Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2016 FIFA Ballon d’Or Award

Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo (31) from Portugal has won the prestigious 2016 FIFA Ballon d’Or Award.

He has earned this title of world’s best football player for fourth time. Earlier he had won the Ballon d’Or in 2008, 2013 and 2014.

In this year’s competition, Barcelona’s Lionel Messi (Argentina) finished second and Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann (France) third in the vote.

About FIFA Ballon d’Or Award

  • FIFA Ballon d’Or Award is annual football association award given by FIFA to the male player who has performed the best in previous calendar year.
  • It was instituted in 2010 after France Football’s Ballon d’Or and the men’s FIFA World Player of the Year award were merged.
  • It is awarded to male player, based upon highest votes secured by him from national team coaches and captains, as well as journalists from around world.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Watch A Video on our Channel



Categories: Awards Current AffairsPersons in NewsSports Current Affairs



  • Dr. Cajetan Coelho

    Congratulations to CR7.

  • Vikas

    Note: From this year onwards, there will be two separate awards, France Football Ballon d’Or and Fifa World Player of the year.