Dr. Zakir A. Naik wins 2015 King Faisal International Prize

India’s Dr. Zakir A. Naik has won the prestigious 2015 King Faisal International Prize (KFIP) in category of Service to Islam.

It was announced by Makkah Governor Prince Khaled Al-Faisal and KFIP Secretary-General Abdullah Al-Othaimeen.

About Dr. Zakir A. Naik

  • Zakir A. Naik is public speaker on the subject of Islam and comparative religion. Sometimes he is referred as a televangelist because of his work at Peace TV. He has published booklet versions of lectures on Islam and comparative religion
  • Before becoming a public speaker, he was trained as a medical doctor.
  • He is founder and President of the Islamic Research Foundation of India. He is also the founder of the Islamic International School in Mumbai and United Islamic Aid, which provides scholarship to poor and destitute Muslim youth.
  • Awards: He has been conferred with many awards including Islamic Personality of 2013, Malaysia’s Distinguished International Personality Award (2013), Sharjah Award for Voluntary Work (2013).

About King Faisal International Prize (KFIP)

  • KFIP is an annual award presented to dedicated men and women whose contributions make a positive difference and sponsored by King Faisal Foundation.
  • It is awarded in five categories: Service to Islam; Islamic studies; Arabic Language and Literature; Science; Medicine.
  • Each prize consists of a handwritten Arabic certificate summarizing the laureate’s work, a commemorative 24-carat, 200-gram gold medal and a cash award of 750,000 Saudi riyal (US$ 200,000).
  • First prize was awarded to Sayyid Abul A’ala Maududi in the year 1979 for his service to Islam.

2015 KFIP other awardees are

  • Chemistry- Professor Omar Mwannes Yaghi (US) and Professor Michael Gratzel (Switzerland),
  • Islamic studies- Abdul Aziz bin Abdul Rahman Kaki.
  • Medicine- Jeffrey Ivan Gordon (US).



Categories: AwardsPersons in News