Economist Amartya Sen awarded inaugural John Maynard Keynes Prize 2015

Eminent Indian economist and Nobel laureate Amartya Sen has been awarded the inaugural Charleston-EFG John Maynard Keynes Prize 2015.

He was chosen for this award for his ground-breaking work that has profound impact on the formation of development policy worldwide and outstanding contribution to society.

Amartya Sen will receive £7,500 to commission a work of art. He will also give the annual Charleston-EFG Keynes Lecture on the topic The Economic Consequences of Austerity at the Charleston Festival on 23 May 2015.

About Amartya Sen

  • Amartya Sen was born on 3 November 1933 in Manikganj district in British India (Now in Bangladesh).
  • He is regarded as one of the foremost thinkers in the field of famine, poverty, social choice and welfare economics.
  • He was teacher and a research scholar in the Department of Economics, Jadavpur University, West Bengal.. Currently, he is a Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Harvard University.
  • His has authored more than 100 books which have been translated into more than 30 languages.

Awards: He has won many prestigious awards. Few of them are

  • Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 1998 for his work in welfare economics.
  • Bharat Ratna- India’s highest Civilian Award in 1999.
  • National Humanities Medal in 2012.

About Charleston-EFG John Maynard Keynes Prize

It is an international award, instituted in the memory and spirit of British Economist John Maynard Keynes’ work, life and legacy.

The aim of this prize is to honour individuals from around the world who continue to embody Keynes’ extraordinary attributes.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Watch A Video on our Channel



Categories: Awards Current AffairsPersons in News