Government proposes to set up 14 new AIIMS hospitals under PMSSY

The Union Government has proposed to establish an additional 14 new AIIMS (All India Institute of Medical Science) under various phases of Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY) in different parts of the country.

It was announced by Union Health Minister JP Nadda while replying to supplementaries in Lok Sabha on AIIMS and related healthcare system in India.

Besides, Lok Sabha was also informed that under the national programme for prevention and control of cancer, diabetes, cardio-vascular diseases and strokes, Government is going to the establish 20 state cancer institutes and 50 tertiary care cancer centres in different parts of the country.

About Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana

Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY) was announced in 2003. Its objectives are correcting regional imbalances in the availability of affordable/reliable tertiary healthcare services and augment facilities for quality medical education in the country. It establishes AIIMS in various regions of India apart from different government colleges. It is funded from different centrally sponsored schemes relating to creating infrastructure on health.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Watch A Video on our Channel



Categories: Government Schemes in India