Indian Women’s hockey team wins 2016 Asian Champions Trophy

Indian Women’s hockey team has won the 2016 Asian Champions Trophy held in Singapore. It was the maiden win of Indian Women’s hockey team in Asian Champions Trophy.

In summit clash held in Singapore, India defeated China by 2-1 goals. The first goal for India was scored by Deep Grace Ekka in the 13th minute which was equalised by China’s Zhong Mengling in the 44th minute. The second and winning goal was scored by Deepika Thakur that gave the India formidable lead to win the tournatment.

About Asian Hockey Champions Trophy

The Asian Hockey Champions Trophy is held annually by the Asian Hockey Federation since 2011. The tournament features the Asian Games top six field hockey teams competing in a round robin format. In women’s category, South Korea has won most titles for two times in 2010 and 2011.



Categories: Sports



Video from Our Channel


  • tarun kumar

    congratulation! indian woman’s hockey team wins 2016 asian champions trophy.

  • Dr. Cajetan Coelho

    Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Asian Champions Hockey trophy.

  • kamal

    congrats indian womens great job