Jawahar Sircar elected vice president of Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union

The CEO of Prasar Bharati, Jawhar Sircar, was elected unopposed as the Vice-President of the Asia Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU).

Also, representatives from Malaysian broadcaster RTM and Japan’s NHK were also chosen as Vice-Presidents while the representative from South Korean broadcaster KBS was chosen as the President.

Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU)

The ABU was formed in 1964, and is a non-profit, non-governmental, professional association of broadcasting organizations. It has over 200 members in over 60 countries/regions. Its headquarters is in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and its President is Yoshinori Imai.

India is a founder member since 1964 and All India Radio (AIR) and Doordarshan have been associated with ABU too.ABU has full time members who must be national free-to-air broadcasters in the Asia-Pacific; associate members that is open to provincial, subscription and national broadcasters; and affiliate members who are organizations connected to broadcastic.

ABU provides a forum to promote the collective interests of its members. It is one of the most prominent and the third largest broadcasting union in the world.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Watch A Video on our Channel



Categories: Persons in News