Kazuo Ishiguro selected for 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature

The Swedish Academy has selected Japanese-born English novelist Kazuo Ishiguro (62) for the 2017 Nobel Prize in literature.

The award was given for his works that are of great emotional force which uncovers the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world.

Kazuo Ishiguro

Kazuo Ishiguro was born in 1954 in Nagasaki, Japan and moved to the UK when he was five years old. He had started writing career in 1981 and has written seven novels, five works in short fiction and four screenplays so far. He is best known for his emotionally resonating prose style and his inventive subversion of literary genres.

Some of his best-known works include Never Let Me Go and The Remains of the Day, which he had written in just a month. His latest book, The Buried Giant, was published in 2015. ‎He had received four Man Booker Prize nominations and won it in 1989 for his novel ‘The Remains of the Day’.


Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Watch A Video on our Channel



Categories: Persons in News