Marieke Lucas Rijneveld: The youngest author to win International Booker Prize

The Dutch author Marieke Lucas Rijneveld has become the youngest to win the International Booker Prize. He won the prize for his debut novel “The Discomfort of Evening”.


The author is to share the prize along with the book’s translator Michele Hutchinson. Lucas is the third author to be nominated to the International Booker Prize after Tommy Wieringa in 2019 and Harry Mulisch in 2007.

International Booker Prize

It is an international literary award hosted in United Kingdom. The award is being presented since 2005 every two years. Since 2016, it is being presented annually. The prize carries cash of 64,000 USD or 50,000 pounds.

Popular and important Literary Awards in India

The following are the most important Literary awards in India

  • Gyanapeeth Award
    • It was established in 1961
    • It is the highest literature award in India
    • It is conferred to those Indians who have done exemplary literature works in official languages in India
    • It is presented to Indian citizens only
  • Sahitya Akademi Fellowship
    • It was established in 1968
    • The first awardee is former President S Radhakrishnan
    • It is awarded to immortal literature works created in any of the 22 official languages of India
  • Vyas Samman
    • It was established in 1991
    • It is awarded to Hindi literature only
  • Yuva Puraskar
    • It was established in 2011
    • It is presented to young writers of age less than 35 years as the name suggests
    • It is given annually for exemplary literature works in any of the official language of India

Official Language

According to Article 343, the official language of India is Hindi or Devanagari. In 1963, the constitutional amendment of The Official Languages Act, 1963 allowed the continuation English alongside Hindi as official language.

Eighth Schedule of Constitution

The Eighth Schedule of Constitution lists the official language of India. There are 22 official languages in India currently. Of these, 14 were included in Constitution. Later Sindhi was added in 1967 through 21st Constitutional Amendment. This was followed by Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali in 1992 by the 71st constitutional amendment. Bodo, Maithili, Dogri and Santhali were added through 92nd constitutional amendment act in 2004.