Current Affairs April 2015

Susanta Lahiri awarded Hevesy Medal Award 2015

Professor Susanta Lahiri was awarded prestigious the Hevesy Medal Award 2015.

The award was presented to him for his outstanding contributions in heavy ion induced radioisotope production, converter targets, tracer packet technique and green chemistry.

About Professor Susanta Lahiri

  • He is a Professor at Chemical Sciences Division at Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics in Kolkata.
  • He is credited for co-creating super heavy chemical element Ununseptiumm which has atomic number 117.
  • He is also a professor at Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai.

Apart from Lahiri, Professor Kattesh V. Katti of the Centre for Radiological Research, University of Missouri, Columia were also awarded this award.

About Hevesy Medal Award

  • It is an international award of excellence that honours scientist for their outstanding achievements in nuclear and radio chemistry.
  • Established in 1968 by Editor-in-Chief and the publishers of the Journal of Radioanalytical and Nuclear Chemistry (JRNC).
  • Named after renowned chemical scientist George de Hevesy who was awarded Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1943.
  • At present the award is administrated by International Committee on Activation Analysis of the Modern Trends in Activation Analysis Conferences (ICAA-MTAA).


Former Czech Republic Prime Minister Stanislav Gross passes away

Former Czech Republic Prime Minister Stanislav Gross passed away on 16 April 2015. He was 45.

Stanislav Gross was the youngest PM of Czech Republic and was elected in July 2004 at the age of 34. He had led the Social Democrat government as PM for one year i.e. till 2005.

Prior to becoming PM he had served as interior minister from 2000 to 2004 in two governments, including under Milos Zeman, who is now president of Czech Republic.

He had joined the Social Democratic party (SDP) in 1989 and was elected for first time to Czech Republic’s parliament in 1992.

Stanislav Gross was born on 30 October 1969 in Prague, Czechoslovakia.