Current Affairs August 2014

DRDO developed poly-herbal medicine to treat Leucoderma

Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) has developed a poly-herbal medicine by the trade name of Lukoskin for the treatment of Leucoderma. It was announced by Union Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar in a written reply to Rajya Sabha. The medicine was developed by Haldwani (Uttarakhand) based scientists of Defence Bio-Energy Research (DIBER), which is a Read More…


24 Standing Committees formed; BJP to head 11, Congress 5

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has declared the list of members and chairpersons for 24 DRSCs (Department Related Standing Committees) of Parliament. While the ruling BJP grabbed 11 chairperson posts of these panels, the Congress will chair 5, including the coveted Committee on Finance. The Trinamool Congress will chair two panels. Members of Bahujan Samaj Party, Telugu Read More…


PM Modi’s Japan visit: Kyoto-Varanasi partnership agreement inked

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on his maiden bilateral visit outside the Indian subcontinent to Japan, inked the cultural agreement of Varanasi-Kyoto which spotlights on how to preserve heritage while building Smart Cities. PM Modi visited Kyoto the ‘smart city’ of Japan, to understand the experiment there bearing in mind that he intends to build Read More…


‘Email’ invented by Indian-American V A Shiva Ayyadurai turns 32

On August 30, 2014, email turned 32 years. The method of message transfer was invented by Indian American V.A.Shiva Ayyadurai when he was just 14 years. V A Shiva Ayyadurai was born to a Tamil Family in Bombay in 1963. In 1978, Shiva Ayyadurai invented a computer programme, which he called “email,” that simulated all Read More…


‘Digital cloud’ for every Indian on anvil

PM Narendra Modi’s next giant drive to free up service delivery from the hold of the lower bureaucracy will be in the form of a ‘digital cloud’ for every Indian. Now, Certificates issued by the Govt.: Education, residential, medical records, birth certificates, etc. will be saved in separate ‘digital lockers’ and a communication protocol will Read More…


Baba Kalyani re-nominated as Co-Chairman of Indo-Japan Business Leader’s Forum

Baba Kalyani has been re-nominated as the Co-Chairman of the India-Japan Business Leader’s Forum (IJBLF). The Ministry of Commerce and Industry appointed Kalyani as chairman of IJBLF. Kalyani is Chairman and Managing Director of Bharat Forge Ltd. The members of IJBLF are accompanying PM Narendra Modi on his maiden visit to Japan. IJBLF is a Read More…