Current Affairs – August, 2019

PDF Compilation of these updates can be downloaded from This Link

Hyderabad Open BWF Tour Super 100 tournament concludes

The 26-year-old Sourabh Verma claimed men’s singles title in final over Loh Kean Yew of Singapore in summit clash at Hyderabad Open BWF Tour Super 100 tournament held at Gachibowli Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad. He entered the finale after registering a straight-game win over Malaysia’s Iskandar Zulkarnain earlier in semifinals.

Top seeded Indian women’s doubles pair of Ashwini Ponnappa and N Sikki Reddy however lost an opportunity to register a maiden women’s doubles title by losing to Korean combination of Baek Ha Na and Jung Kyung Eun (with 17-21 17-21) in the summit clash.

Hyderabad Open (badminton) 2019

The 2019 Hyderabad Open, officially titled IDBI Federal Life Insurance Hyderabad Open 2019 was a badminton tournament held from 6-11 August 2019 at G. M. C. Balayogi SATS Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad, India.

Tournament had a total purse of $75,000 and was organized by the Badminton Association of India and sanctioned by the BWF (The Badminton World Federation).

It was 5th Super 100 tournament of 2019 BWF World Tour. It is also part of Hyderabad Open championships, which had been held since 2018.

Highlights: Hyderabad Open Badminton 2019

Men’s Singles Title: Sourabh Verma

Women’s Singles Title: Singapore’s Yeo Jia Min

Women’s Doubles Title: South Korea’s Baek Ha Na and Jung Kyung Eun

Men’s Doubles Title: Indonesia’s Muhammad Shohibul Fikri & Bagas Maulana

Mixed Doubles Title: Malaysia’s Hoo Pang Ron & Cheah Yee See

About Sourabh Verma

Sourabh Verma, reigning national champion from Madhya Pradesh, who had won Slovenia International in May 2019 outwitted World No. 44 Kean Yew (with 21-13 14-21 21-16) in a 52-minute final clash.

Besides winning the Slovenia Open, he has reached semifinals at US Open and quarterfinals at Canada Open.

In 2018 Sourabh had won Dutch Open Super 100 and Russian Open Super 100 titles.

He will next be playing Chinese Taipei Open (Super 300) and Vietnam Open (Super 100) in September 2019.

He doesn’t have any financial support or sponsor and has been playing tournaments on his own.

Ultimate Table Tennis Title: Chennai Lions beats Dabang Delhi in final

Chennai Lions glided away to one-sided victory over Dabang Delhi in final to win Ultimate Table Tennis (UTT) crown. Chennai Lions led by Sharath Kamal defeated Sathiyan-led Dabang Delhi with 8-1 in final to lift UTT Season 3 Trophy.

Key Highlights

In front of a packed house, Sharath Kamal-spearheaded Lions defeated defending champions Dabang Delhi to lift the trophy and brought league to an end.

Lions’ foreign imports namely Petrissa Solja of Germany and Tiago Apolonia (World No. 71) of Portugal proved to be stars of grand finale.

Pair of Sharath Kamal and Petrissa Solja defeated Delhi’s Sathiyan and Scozs in thumping fashion.

Solja defeated Scozs with 2-1, while Apolonia wiped out Sathiyan with 3-0 followed by another 3-0 victory for Lions.

Final Results of UTT Season 03

Women’s Singles: Petrissa Solja bt Bernadette Szocs (2-1)

Men’s Singles: Tiago Apolonia bt Sathiyan G. (3-0)

Mixed Doubles Men: Sharath Kamal/Petrissa Solja bt Sathiyan G/Bernadette Szocs 3-0 (11-7, 11-2, 11-3).


Super Server of League – Jon Persson (Dabang Delhi)

Standout Player of League– Sutirtha Mukherjee (U Mumba Tt)- She Didn’t Lose Single Match Throughout the League.

Most Valuable Player of League (Female)– Doo Hoi Kem (U Mumba Tt)

Most Valuable Player Of The League (Male)– Sathiyan Gnansekaran

The Ultimate One– Petrissa Solja (Chennai Lions)

About Ultimate Table Tennis

UTT is India’s first-ever professional table tennis league. The inaugural Ultimate Table Tennis was held from 13 to 20 July 2017.

UTT aims to benefit development of Indian players by allowing them to play alongside some of world’s best players.

Franchises are club-based instead of city-based and each franchise is a combination of overseas and Indian players. It includes 4 men and 4 women, along with 1 Indian and 1 international coach each.

Apart from foreign players, coaches from abroad would also be part of league, with each team having an international coach apart from 1 Indian.

The year 2019 was the 3rd season of Ultimate Table Tennis.