Current Affairs – June, 2014

Latest Current Affairs June, 2014 with Current Affairs, news summary on current events of National and International importance of June, 2014 for Banking, SSC, CLAT, UPSC, State PCS, IBPS, Railways and other Competitive Examinations.

PDF Compilation of these updates can be downloaded from This Link

Government eliminates all GoMs and EGoMs for better accountability and empowerment

In a key move to authorize the Ministries and Departments, the PM Narendra Modi decided to eliminate all the prevailing 9 Empowered Group of Ministers (EGoMs) and 21 Groups of Ministers (GoMs).

Objective: This would speed up the process of decision-making and bring in more answerability in the system.

The Ministries and Departments will now process the matters unresolved afore the EGoMs and GoMs and take suitable resolutions at the level of Ministries and Departments itself. If at anyplace a Ministry faces any issues, the Cabinet Secretariat and the PMO (Prime Minister’s Office) will smoothen the resolution making process.

Earlier, during the UPA regime, former Defence Minister A K Antony was leading most of the EGoMs. The panels were fashioned to take decisions on matters like corruption, inter-state water disputes, administrative reforms, gas, telecom pricing, etc. These EGoMs had the power to take judgements on the line of the Union Cabinet. The suggestions of the GoMs were placed before the Cabinet for the final verdict.

KKR wins IPL 7 trophy

Sharukh Khan’s Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) chased down a huge 200-run target to beat Preity Zinta’s Kings XI Punjab in the final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 7. Kolkata Knight Riders beat Kings XI Punjab by 3 wickets.

IPL-7 which was held from April 16 – June 1, 2014 was played at venues in UAE & India. Based on security demands for the 2014 Lok Sabha General Elections the venues for some matches were shifted outside India. 8 teams participated in IPL-7.

Kolkata won IPL for the second time (last time in 2012).

  • Orange Cap (Highest Scorer): Robin Uthappa (KKR)
  • Purple Cap (Highest Wicket Taker): Mohit Sharma (CSK – Chennai Super Kings)
  • Player of the Tournament: Glenn Maxwell (Kings XI Punjab)