Current Affairs – June, 2015

16th edition of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA)

16th edition of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) informally known as the “Bollywood Oscars,” was held in Malaysia.

The award ceremony was held in Putra Indoor Stadium Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

The 2015 IIFA Awards honoured the best films of 2014 and the ceremony took place from June 05 to 07, 2015.  Haider was awarded the most awards (09).


Popular Awards

  • Best Film:Queen.
  • Best Director: Rajkumar Hirani – PK.
  • Best Actor In A Leading Role: Shahid Kapoor –Haider as Haider Meer.
  • Best Actress In A Leading Role: Kangana Ranaut – Queen as Rani Mehra.
  • Best Actor In A Supporting Role: Riteish Deshmukh – Ek Villain as Rakesh Mahadkar.
  • Best Actress In A Supporting Role: Tabu – Haider as Ghazala Meer.
  • Male Debutant Star: Tiger Shroff – Heropanti as Bablu.
  • Female Debutant Star: Kriti Sanon – Heropanti as Dimpy.
  • Best Performance In A Comic Role: Varun Dhawan– Main Tera Hero as Seenu.
  • Best Performance In A Negative Role: Kay Kay Menon– Haider as Khurram Meer.
  • Best Story: Vikas Bahl, Chaitally Parmar, Parveez Shaikh- Queen.

Special Awards

  • IIFA Award for Outstanding Achievement in International Cinema: Subhash Ghai.
  • IIFA Award for Entertainer of the Year: Deepika Padukone

Musical awards

  • Best Music Direction: 2 States – Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy.
  • Best Lyrics: Galliyan from Ek Villain – Manoj Muntashir.
  • Best Male Playback Singer: Ankit Tiwari for Galliyan – Ek Villain.
  • Best Female Playback Singer: Kanika Kapoor for Baby Doll – Ragini MMS 2.
  • Best Sound Design: Shajith Koyeri – Haider.
  • Best Background Score: Vishal Bhardwaj – Haider.

Technical awards

  • Best Action: Parvez Shaikh & Andy Armstrong – Bang Bang.
  • Best Special Effects: Reupal Rawal (Prime Focus) – Kick.
  • Best Choreography: Ahmed Khan – Kick.
  • Best Cinematography: Binod Pradhan – 2 States.
  • Best Costume Design: Dolly Ahluwalia – Haider.
  • Best Dialogue: Abhijat Joshi & Rajkumar Hirani – PK.
  • Best Editing: Anurag Kashyap & Abhijit Kokate – Queen.
  • Best Makeup: Preetisheel Singh & Clover Wootton – Haider.
  • Best Production Design: Subrata Chakraborty & Amit Ray – Haider.
  • Best Screenplay: Vikas Bahl, Chaitally Parmar & Parveez Shaikh – Queen.
  • Best Sound Mixing: Debajit Changmai – Haider.
  • Best Sound Recording: Eric Pillai for Galliyan – Ek Villain.

KV Chowdary appointed as new Central Vigilance Commissioner

President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed KV Chowdary new Central Vigilance Commissioner.

He was appointed by President on the recommendation of Select committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and comprising of Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh  as well as Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha Mallikarjuna Kharge.

He is 1978-batch IRS officer of the Income Tax cadre. He also had served as Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), an apex authority of the Indian Income Tax department.

Prior to this appointment Mr. Chowdary was working as the adviser to the Supreme Court-appointed Special Investigation Team which is probing black money cases.

About Central Vigilance Commission (CVC)

  • CVC was set up by the Union Government in February 1964 on the recommendations of the K. Santhanam Committee on Prevention of Corruption.
  • The CVC is an apex body of Union Government formed to address governmental corruption.
  • It has the status of statutory autonomous body and free of control from any executive authority as per the provisions of Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) Act, 2003.
  • The CVC is headed by a Central Vigilance Commissioner and has two Vigilance Commissioners.
  • Appointment: Central Vigilance Commissioner and has two Vigilance Commissioners are appointed by President on the recommendations of select committee comprising of Prime Minister as Chairperson, Union Minister of Home Affairs and Leader of the second largest party in the Lok Sabha or majority group leader in parliament.
  • Functions: To monitor all vigilance activity under the Union Government and advise various authorities in Union Government organizations in planning, executing, reviewing and reforming their vigilance work.
  • Nittoor Srinivasa Rau was the first Chief Vigilance Commissioner of India.