NASI SCOPUS Young Scientist Awards-2018 presented to winners in New Delhi

National Academy of Sciences India (NASI) SCOPUS Young Scientist Awards 2018 were presented to winners in New Delhi. This year five multi-disciplinary categories in awards were introduced. The categories are agriculture, plant sciences and rural development, women in science, environmentally sound sustainable development, biomedical research and healthcare and innovation in engineering and physical sciences. These categories aligned with national missions of Make in India, Digital India, Healthy India and Clean India. The prize includes citation, trophy and Rs. 75,000. The five winners were selected from pool of about 800 candidates

2018 Winners

  • Agriculture, Plant Sciences and Rural Development: Jitender Giri, National Institute of Plant Genome Research, New Delhi.
  • Biomedical Research and Healthcare: Maddika Subba Reddy, Group Leader and Staff Scientist- V, CDFD, Hyderabad.
  • Environmentally Sound Sustainable Development: Vimal Chandra Srivastava, Indian Institute of Technology-Roorkee, Roorkee.
  • Innovation in Engineering and Physical Sciences: Ajay S. Karakoti, Associate Professor, Ahmedabad University, Ahmedabad.
  • Women in Science: Zhumur Ghosh, Bose Institute, Kolkata.

Scopus Young Scientist Awards

It was first launched by Amsterdam-based global publisher Elsevier in 2006. It is part of Elsevier’s global initiative to support early career researchers in their quest to advance frontiers of science across broad range of disciplines. In 2009, India officially adopted program within its scientific community through Elsevier’s collaboration with National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI). Indian version of this award honours outstanding young researchers in the country who are building their careers in academic research, helping them gain recognition for their work.

Watch A Video on our Channel



Categories: Awards & Honours




  • Pardeshi

    Ki har aja Pardeshi ootheri meri ek didadi

  • Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    Hearty congratulations to all our distinguished winners.