What is the difference between lockdown, Curfew and Section 144?

With COVID-19 spreading in India, GoI has ruled curfew in some areas, Section-144 in some other areas and lock down in many other areas. These measures are being done to contain the spread of the virus.

Lock Down

The action is called Lock Down when there are restrictions on assembly. However, essential services are available in these situations. The Lock Down shall be enforced by a collector or the chief medical officer. The chief Medical Officer shall enforce Lock Down according to Epidemic Diseases Act, 1897. With Lock Down being imposed five or more people are not allowed to assemble.

During Lock Down, the police has rights to arrest person and book him under Section 271 when he tries to escape from quarantine.

Section 144

The action is called Section 144, when the assembly of people are prohibited abiding to Indian Penal Code. Under Section 144, more than 5 people are not allowed to assemble.


The action is called Curfew when Section 144 is imposed along with the shutdown of essential services. The Curfew powers lies with Collector and Police Commissioner.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Finance Minister on COVID-19: Tax Filings extended, ATM, bank charges waived off, Business Rules Eased and much more

On March 24, 2020, the Finance Minister Nirmala Sitaraman announced several key measures in the view of Corona Virus Pandemic. The minister also announced that the Economic Task Force is to announce Economic Relief Package to contain the spread of the disease.

Financial Measures

No charges on withdrawal of cash in bank ATMs. Also, the digital charges on trade transactions have been reduced. This is being done to ease burden on customers in need of urgent cash and also to avoid overcrowding in bank branches.

Tax Measures

The PAN card and Aadhaar card linking were extended to June 30. The Vivaad Se Vishwas Scheme that was launched by the Finance Minister during the Budget Session has been extended to June 30. The Compliances under Wealth Tax act, Income Tax Act, Black Money Act, Benami Transaction Act and Vivaad Se Vishwas have also been extended to June 30.

Other Measures

The GST returns, Sabka Vishwas scheme filing dates have also been extended to March 31.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App