Current Affairs Today - Current Affairs 2017

हिंदी करंट अफेयर्स प्रश्नोत्तरी 2017 के लिए यहाँ क्लिक करें.

SHe-box portal launched for both public and private sector

The Ministry of Women and Child Development (WCD) launched comprehensive SHe-Box (sexual harassment e-box) online complaint Management System for women to lodge complaints of sexual harassment at workplace.

It is mainly be for women working in both public and private organizations to ensure effective implementation of Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act (SH Act), 2013.

Earlier the portal was launched in July 2017 for women working in central government offices. Now it can be accessed by all women who are part of workforce in organised sector across the country.

Key Facts

The new SHe-Box portal offers facility of making online complaints of sexual harassment at workplace to all women employees in country including government and private employees.

It aims to provide speedier remedy to women facing sexual harassment at workplace. Once complaint is submitted to portal, it will be directly sent to Complaint Committee (ICC) or Local Complaint Committee (LCC) of concerned employer constituted under SH Act.

Through this portal, WCD as well as complainant can monitor progress of inquiry conducted by ICC/LCC. Those who have already filed a written complaint with the concerned ICC/LCC are also eligible to file their complaint through this portal.


Supreme Court refuses to ban Kambala

The Supreme Court has refused to pass an interim order to stay Ordinance allowing kambala, the traditional buffalo slush track race in Karnataka.

However, the apex court will examine the Constitutional validity of the Ordinance. People for Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA), a non-governmental organisation, had challenged the Ordinance.


Karnataka Assembly had passed an ordinance Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Karnataka Amendment) Bill, 2017 in February 2017 to allow Kambal to circumvent ban imposed by Karnataka High Court. The ordinance had received Central Government (Ministry of Law and Justice) and Presidential assent. The Karnataka HC had stayed these traditional sports in view of Supreme Court’s ban on jallikattu, a traditional bull taming sport of Tamil Nadu.


Kambala is traditional slush track buffalo race that is held annually in coastal districts of Karnataka to entertain rural people of the area. Slushy/marshy paddy field track is used for Kambala. The sports season generally starts in November and lasts till March. The contest generally takes place between two pairs of buffaloes, each pair race in two seprate wet rice fields tracks, controlled by a whip-lashing farmer.

In the traditional form of Kambala, buffalo racing was non-competitive and buffalo pairs ran one by one in paddy fields. Besides, there was also ritualistic approach as some agriculturists race their buffaloes as a means to thank god for protecting their animals from disease. But in recent times, Kambala has become an organised rural sport.