Current Affairs Today - Current Affairs 2017

हिंदी करंट अफेयर्स प्रश्नोत्तरी 2017 के लिए यहाँ क्लिक करें.

Leela Samson resigns as Chairperson of Central Board of Film Certification

Chairperson of Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) Leela Samson has resigned.

She resigned after Film Certification Appellate Tribunal (FCAT) cleared the controversial film Messenger of God featuring Dera Saccha Sauda chief Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh in lead role.

The Censor Board headed by Ms. Samson had earlier denied the clearance certificate to the film saying that the movie depicts Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh as a God.

Film Certification Appellate Tribunal (FCAT)

  • FCAT is a statutory body. It has been constituted under the provisions of the Cinematograph Act, 1952.
  • It comes under the aegis of Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.
  • Headquarters: New Delhi.
  • The Tribunal has a Secretary to look after its day to day affairs.
  • Function: It hears the appeals filed as per provisions of Cinematograph Act. Any applicant can file an appeal before the tribunal for a certificate in respect of a film who is aggrieved by an order of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC).

Leela Samson

  • She is a Bharatanatyam dancer, choreographer, instructor and writer.
  • She is recipient of the many awards for her contributions to Bharatanatyam. It includes Padma Shri (1990), Kalaimamani (2005) given by Government of Tamil Nadu, and the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (1999–2000).


HS Brahma appointed as Chief Election Commissioner of India

President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Harishankar Brahma as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India.

He will be 19th CEC of India and succeed V S Sampat who had retired after attaining age 65 on 15 January 2015.

He will take charge on 16 January 2015.

About Harishankar Brahma

  • He is a retired IAS officer of 1975 batch from the Andhra Pradesh cadre.
  • He hails from the state of Assam. He is second person from North East India to become Chief Election Commissioner after J. M. Lyngdoh.
  • He had assumed charge of Election Commissioner on 24 August 2010, after he retired from position of Secretary in Ministry of Power.

Chief Election Commissioner

As per the provisions of Article 324 of Constitution

  • Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners are appointed by the President.
  • They hold office for the term of 6 years or until they attain age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.
  • The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from office only through impeachment by Parliament.