Current Affairs Today - Current Affairs 2017

हिंदी करंट अफेयर्स प्रश्नोत्तरी 2017 के लिए यहाँ क्लिक करें.

Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Ballon d’Or award for the third time

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA Ballon d’Or award for year 2014.

He has earned this title of world’s best football player for a third time. Earlier he was conferred with award in 2008 and 2013.

He has retained this highest individual honour in football after scoring 61 goals for Real Madrid and Portugal in 2014. He also had played important role, by making record tally of 17 goals in a Champions League season that helped his club to win an unprecedented 10th European Cup title.

While in women’s section, Germany’s midfielder Nadine Kessler has been awarded FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year title.

FIFA Ballon d’Or Award

  • It is an annual football association award given by FIFA to the male player who has performed the best in the previous calendar year.
  • This award was instituted in 2010 after France Football’s Ballon d’Or and the men’s FIFA World Player of the Year award were merged.
  • It is awarded to the male player, based upon highest votes secured by him from national team coaches and captains, as well as journalists from around the world.
  • Inaugural 2010 FIFA Ballon d’Or was awarded to Lionel Messi. Later he won this award for consecutive two years i.e. 2011 and 2012.


Arvind Panagariya takes charge as Vice-Chairman of NITI Aayog

Eminent Economist Arvind Panagariya has taken charge as first Vice-Chairman of the newly-created National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog on 13 January 2015.

After taking charges, he was briefed about newly created NITI Aayog by its CEO Sindhushree Khuallar and other senior officials.

About Arvind Panagariya

  • He is an Indian-American economist and Professor of Economics at Columbia University. He holds a Ph.D. degree in Economics from prestigious Princeton University.
  • He was an ex-Chief Economist at the Asian Development Bank (ADB).
  • He has also worked for the World Bank, International Monetary Fund, World Trade Organization, and the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) in various capacities.
  • He has written around 10 books and the latest was India: The Emerging Giant published in 2008.


On 5 January 2015, Union government had announced the appointment of Vice- Chairman, 2 full time members, 4 ex-officio members (Union ministers) and 3 special invitees of Aayog.

They were appointed after government on 1 January 2015 had announced that NITI Aayog has replaced the 65-year old Planning Commission.

It should be noted that Prime Minister is Ex-Officio Chairman of NITI Aayog.

Prime Minister Naredra Modi also had appointed Economist Bibek Debroy and former DRDO chief V K Saraswat as full-time members of Aayog.

While, Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Suresh Prabhu and Radha Mohan Singh were appointed as the Ex-Officio members of Aayog. Other Union Ministers like Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Zubin Irani and Thawar Chand Gehlot are Special Invitees in Aayog.