Current Affairs Today - Current Affairs 2018

Tribal women entitled to inherit property in accordance with Hindu Succession Act: HP-HC

Himachal Pradesh High Court has ruled that the daughters in tribal areas in the state shall inherit the property in accordance with Hindu Succession Act, 1956.

This landmark judgment will help to bring a new resolution in the tribal society’s inoder to grant equal rights to the girls and bring down gender disparity.

The ruling was given by Justice Rajiv Sharma by upholding the earlier order passed by District Judge of Chamba in 2002 to grant legal rights to women in family property.

The court rule that

  • These tribal people profess Hindu rites and customs and they do not follow different Gods.
  • Though their culture may be different but their customs must conform to the constitutional philosophy.
  • Women have to be advanced socially and economically to bestow upon them dignity.
  • Gender discrimination violates fundamental rights so the daughters in a society cannot be segregated from mainstream. So they are entitled to equal share in the property.

It should be noted that this judgement will help tribal women in districts of Kinnaur, Lahaul-Spiti and Chamba of state to reinforce their inherent rights in the ancestors’ property same as male siblings.


Andhra Pradesh government to form Krishi Cabinet

Andhra Pradesh government has decided to form a Cabinet sub-committee named as Krishi Cabinet.

This sub-committee will focus on the challenges of the Primary Sector Mission of state government undertaken to make agriculture and its allied activities profitable and sustainable for all-round improvement of the rural economy.

Decision in this regard was taken by state cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu in Vijaywada.

Apart from this cabinet also rechristened Primary Sector Mission of state as ‘Rythu Kosam’. This mission will be part of the government’s strategy to achieve 18.2 per cent growth in 2015-16 fiscal.

It will aim to enhance the contribution of primary sector to the Gross State Domestic Product (GSDP) from 1.43 lakh crore to 1.69 lakh crore rupees. Additional Joint Collector-rank official will the in-charge of the Primary Sector Mission’s performance.