January 14: Armed Forces Veterans Day

Every year, Armed Forces Veterans Day is celebrated on January 14. The day is being celebrated since 2017. The day was initially called Armistice Day.


The Day began its journey as Armistice Day in order to reflect upon heroism of those who died in country’s service. Armistice Day is celebrated on November 11 all over the world. The first Armistice Day was celebrated on November 11, 1919 marking the anniversary of the end of World War I and celebrating the brave soldiers who were part of World War I. However, in India the day was first marked through a resolution passed by the Congress in 1926.

Why November 11?

The Armistice Day was commemorated on November 11 to mark the armistice that was signed between Allies of World war I and Germany.

Veterans Day

In 1954, the Armistice Day was changed to Veterans Day to honour the living legends of all wars. Unlike Memorial Day, on armistice day, the world pays tribute to living veterans who were part of the war.

Armed Forces Veterans Day

The Armed Forces Veterans Day is celebrated from 2017. The fourth Army Forces Veteran Day, 2020 is to be celebrated at National War Memorial. Chief of Army, Chief of Navy and Chief of Air Force will be present in the function.

Why January 14?

Every year, January 14 is marked as Armed Forces Veteran Day as the Field Marshal KM Cariappa, the first Commander-in-chief of Indian Armed Forces retired on the day.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Statue of Unity included in 8 Wonders of SCO; SCO heads meet: first time in India

The Statue of Unity that was inaugurated by PM Modi in October 2018 has been included in 8 wonders of SCO (Shanghai Cooperation Organization). The statue was a monumental tribute to Sardar Vallabhai Patel.

About the Statue

The Statue was inaugurated on the 143rd birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhai Patel. It is the world’s tallest statue. In one year, since its inauguration, it attracted 2.9 million tourists and earned 82 crores of rupees.

What are the Eight Wonders?

The Wonders of SCO include archaeological and historical monuments of SCO. It includes

  • Statue of Unity in India
  • Daming Palace in China
  • Navruz Palace in Tajikistan
  • Mughals Heritage in Pakistan
  • Tamgaly Gorge in Kazakhstan
  • Po-i-Kalan Complex in Uzbekistan
  • The Golden Ring of Russia
  • Lahore, the Mughals heritage in Pakistan

SCO Heads Meet

For the first time, India is hosting heads of Government meet of SCO countries. All the government heads of eight SCO countries India, Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan will attend the meeting. However, there are possibilities for Pakistan to skip the meet.

Amidst highest tensions between India and Pakistan, Pakistan PM Imran Khan is expected to skip the meet. The countries however participated in SCO military exercise hosted by Russia.

SCO is an economic bloc in which India and Pakistan became members in 2017.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App