Current Affairs Today - Current Affairs 2018

हिंदी करंट अफेयर्स प्रश्नोत्तरी 2018 के लिए यहाँ क्लिक करें.

Bharat Ke Veer anthem launched in New Delhi

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has launched official anthem for “Bharat Ke Veer” sung and composed by singer Kailash Kher. Bharat Ke Veer is an initiative with corpus fund to help the families of paramilitary troopers killed in the line of duty.  So far, it has raised Rs. 12.93 crore for kin of paramilitary personnel killed in the line of duty

Bharat ke Veer

Bharat ke Veer is web portal and mobile application launched by MHA. It is IT based platform to enable willing donors to contribute towards family of braveheart who sacrificed his life in line of duty. The portal is supported by National Informatics Centre (NIC) and powered by State Bank of India (SBI).

The amount so donated through it will be credited to the account of ‘Next of Kin’ of those Central Armed Police Force or Central Para Military Force soldiers. To ensure maximum coverage, a cap of Rs. 15 lakh is imposed on donation and donors will be alerted if amount exceeds, so they can choose to divert part of the donation to another account or the corpus.

Bharat Ke Veer corpus will be managed by committee made up of eminent persons of repute and senior Government officials. The committee will decide to disbursement of fund equitably to braveheart’s family on need basis.


Om Prakash Rawat appointed New Chief Election Commissioner

President Ram Nath Kovind has appointed Election commissioner Om Prakash Rawat (64) as new Chief Election Commissioner. He will succeed Achal Kumar Joti who has retired from post.

Moreover, President also appointed former finance secretary Ashok Lavasa as Election commissioner. Both will have tenure of six years in office or till he or she attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

Om Prakash Rawat

Om Prakash Rawat is 1977-batch IAS officer from Madhya Pradesh cadre. He was appointed to Election Commission in August 2015. He has held several important portfolios at Centre and state level during his long bureaucratic career.

Prior to his appointment as Election Commissioner, he had had retired as Secretary, Ministry of Heavy Industries and public enterprises. He had earlier also served as director in defence ministry in 1993. During this tenure, he was deputed to South Africa in May, 1994, as UN election observer to oversee first post-apartheid elections.

He has also served as principal secretary to Babu Lal Gaur, the then Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh from 2004 to 2006. He received Prime Minister’s award for excellence in Public Administration for his initiative “recognition of forest rights in 2010.


ECI is permanent and independent constitutional body established directly by Constitution of India to ensure fair and fair elections in the country. It is multi member body and currently has three members including Chief Election Commissioner (CEC).

They all are appointed by the President. They hold office for term of six years or until they attain age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. The service conditions and tenure of office of Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners are determined by an act of parliament titled The Chief Election Commissioner and Other Election Commissioners (Conditions of Service) Act, 1991.

The CEC and election commissioners have equal power and receive equal salary, allowances and other perquisites, which are similar to judge of Supreme Court. In case of difference of opinion amongst CEC and Election Commissioner, matter is decided by Commission by majority.