Collegium system set to be abolished as Congress supports new Commission

With the Congress and regional parties deciding supporting the NDA’s Constitution amendment bill to set up the National Judicial Appointments Commission (NJAC), the collegium system of appointing judges to the Supreme Court and high courts is set to become history. The new legislation seeks to replace the existing judges-appointing-judges system with a 6-member Commission.

Realizing the lack of numbers to stall the bill, the Congress decided to express its concerns while voting in favour of the bill. Congress objected to two provisions — giving “veto” to members of the Commission to reject names proposed for appointments and requiring unanimity in case a name returned by the President is reiterated. The party is of the view that these provisions would compromise the independence of judiciary.

Panel recommends Awardees for Arjuna Award, No Khel Ratna

The 12-member selection panel, headed by legendary cricketer Kapil Dev, recommended the names of 15 sportspersons for the prestigious Arjuna Award. However, the committee did not recommend anyone one for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna. This is the third time when no sportsperson has been recommended for the Khel Ratna since the establishing of the country’s highest sporting award in 1991.

Sportspersons recommended for Arjuna Award: 

  1. Ravichandran Ashwin (cricket)
  2. Akhilesh Varma (archery)
  3. Tintu Luka (athletics)
  4. H N Girisha (paralympics)
  5. V Diju (badminton)
  6. Geetu Ann Jose (basketball)
  7. Jai Bhagwan (boxing)
  8. Anirban Lahiri (golf)
  9. Mamta Pujari (kabaddi)
  10. Saji Thomas (rowing)
  11. Heena Sidhu (shooting)
  12. Anaka Alankamony (squash)
  13. Tom Joseph (volleyball)
  14. Renubala Chanu (weightlifting)
  15. Sunil Rana (wrestling)

Now, the Sports Ministry will examine the recommended names. The Ministry is also at the liberty of dropping or even adding any sportsperson in the list for the Arjuna Award.