M.S.Dhoni became the first captain to play in four tied O.D.I.s

Screenshot_2Indian cricket team captain MS Dhoni became the first captain to be involved in four One-Day Internationals (ODIs) ties. This feat was achieved by him as India tied the third ODI against New Zealand in Auckland on January 25, 2014.

The last three tied matches played by Indian captain MS Dhoni

 ICC World Cup 2011 match in Bangalore against England
 ODI match played on September 2011 at Lords against England
ODI match played in February 2012 at Adelaide against Sri Lanka 

Other cricketers who have faced tied matches in three cases are

  •  West Indies’ Richie Richardson
  •  Australia’s Steve Waugh
  • South Africa’s Shaun Pollock

Note: Till date, India figured in seven tied matches while New Zealand in six. 

Australia Open 2014: Stanislas Wawrinka won the Men’s title

Switzerland’s Stanislas Wawrinka won his first Grand Slam title with victory over an injury-hit Rafael Nadal in the Australian Open final. He defeated Rafael Nadal by 6-3, 6-2, 3-6, 6-3 in Melbourne. By this victory, he became the second Swiss man to win a Grand Slam singles title after 17-time champion Roger Federer.

The other winners of the Australia Open 2014
  • Women’s Singles: Li Na (China) won her first Australian Open title against first-time major finalist Dominika Cibulková (Slovakia)
  • Mixed doubles:  Kristina Mladenovic (Fra) & Daniel Nestor (Can) beat Sania Mirza (Ind) & Horia Tecau (Rou).
  • Men’s Doubles: Łukasz Kubot (Poland) and Robert Lindstedt (Sweden) took the men’s doubles title with a victory over Eric Butorac(USA) and Raven Klaseen (South Africa).
  • Women’s Doubles: Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci were the defending chanmpions and successfully defended their title, by defeating Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina in the final.


Note: The 2014 Australian Open is the 102nd edition of the tournament, held at MelbournePark in Melbourne, Australia.