Manoj Mishra appointed as CMD of National Fertilizers Ltd

Union Government has appointed Manoj Mishra as Chairman and Managing Director (CMD) of state-run National Fertilizers Ltd (NFL).

Mishra’s appointment comes after Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB) had recommended his name for the top post at NFL in September 2014.

The post of CMD of NFL was lying vacant since February 2014 after the retirement of then CMD Neeru Abrol. Presently, Mishra is posted as Director Finance at State Trading Corporation (STC).

State-run NFL has five gas-based urea plants across India. They are Nangal & Bathinda in Punjab, Panipat in Haryana and two plants at Vijaipur in District Guna of Madhya Pradesh. The company is the second largest producer of urea in the country and has a total annual installed capacity of 35.68 lakh tonnes.

Antarctic ice loss altering earth’s gravity: Study

A new scientific study has found that a sudden and massive ice loss in a previously stable region of Antarctica is causing small changes in the gravitational field of the Earth.

This study was led by Dr Bert Wouters, a Marie Curie Fellow at the University of Bristol, England and was recently published in Science Journal.

Key highlights of Study

  • The changes were observed using the CryoSat-2 satellite, a mission of the European Space Agency (ESA) dedicated to remote-sensing of ice.
  • Researchers have found that the ice surface of some of the glaciers is currently going down by as much as 4 m each year.
  • They also have found out that Southern Antarctic Peninsula showed no signs of change up to 2009. But after 2009, multiple glaciers along a vast coastal expanse suddenly started to shed ice into the ocean.
  • These glaciers measure around 750 km in length and are shrinking nearly at a constant rate of 60 cubic km and adding about 55 trillion litres of water each year.
  • With level of shrinking, this region now has become the second largest contributor to sea level rise in Antarctica and causing small changes in the gravity field of the Earth.