O Panneerselvam sworn in as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu

AIADMK leader O. Panneerselvam (65) was sworn in as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu following death of Chief Minister Jayalalithaa.

He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Ch. Vidyasagar Rao at a solemn ceremony held in the Raj Bhavan, Chennai. Besides, all 31 members of the outgoing Ministry from the Jayalalithaa’s council of Ministers were sworn in.

This is for third time he has sworn in as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. Earlier he had served CM for two brief periods from 2001-02 and 2014-15 after Jayalalithaa was unseated from the post by the courts on various grounds.

Panneerselvam has been a trusted aide of AIADMK supremo Jayalalithaa. After her death, he was elected the leader of the Legislature Party. He will have remaining four years term of the Jayalalithaa Government. In Jayalalithaa’s government he was Minister for Finance and Public Works Departments since May 2016.

About O Panneerselvam

  • He was born on January 14, 1951 in Periyakulam, Tamil Nadu. He started his political career as chairman of Periyakulam Municipality (1996 to 2001).
  • Previously in Jayalalithaa’s government he had served as Minister of Revenue Department (March 2002 to December 2002), Minister for Public Works (December 2002 to May 2006) and Finance Minister (May 2011 to September 2014).



Categories: Persons in NewsStates