People’s Action Party Registers Comfortable Win, Lee Hsien Loong to continue as the Prime Minister of Singapore

The 2020 General Elections of Singapore was conducted on 10th July 2020 for its 105 seats unicameral Parliament (93 members are elected through the Election). Singapore became the 2nd Country in Asia to conduct National Polls in the times of the COVID-19 global pandemic. Earlier on 15th April 2020, South Korea became the first Asian Country by conducting its 21st Legislative Elections.

Results of the Election

  1. Under the leadership of incumbent Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, the People’s Action Party (PAP) have won 83 seats out of the total 93 seats contested in the Election by securing 61.24 percent of the total valid votes.
  2. Among opposition parties, Worker’s Party under the Leadership of Pritam Singh won the remaining 10 seats that were contested in the election by securing 11.22 percent of the total valid votes.

With this win, Lee Hsien Loong will continue as the Prime Minister of Singapore.


In the midst of a global pandemic, the Elections Department of Singapore had announced on 23rd June 2020 that the 2020 General Election will be held on the 10th of July 2020. This announcement came after President of Singapore, Halimah Yacob had dissolved the ongoing 13th Parliament of Singapore earlier on the same day.

The announcement that the Parliament has been dissolved was made by the Prime Minister of Singapore, Lee Hsien Loong. The Prime Minister justified his actions for calling an imminent election at the time of a global pandemic by stating that the COVID-19 outbreak is relatively stable in the country, further he assured that for the elections to be carried out safely, actions such as- suspension of mass rallies, an increased number of polling stations, designated time-bands for the senior citizens to vote, etc will be taken.

Parliament of Singapore

It is a unicameral parliament with 105 seats. 47 seats is the majority mark that is required by a political party or coalition to form a government.

  • Out of 105, 93 members are elected through the Parliamentary Elections, 3 seats are reserved under the Non-Constituency Member of Parliament (NCMP) while the remaining 9 seats are reserved for the Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP).
  • The 3 NCMP seats are for those who have lost in the General Elections of the Parliament but are among the best performing losers (top 3 those who have lost in the General Election by least Margin).
  • 9 NMP members are appointed directly by the President of Singapore.