RMRC Dibrugarh becomes the 4th Laboratory in India to isolate COVID-19 Virus Strain

The Indian Council of Medical Research’s (ICMR’s) regional centre at Assam’s Dibrugarh- Regional Medical Research Centre (RMRC) has successfully able to isolate the SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19) virus strain. This success will open up avenues to conduct COVID-19 related studies such as from the development of a potential vaccine to making other uses of cultures of the SARS-COV-2 for the development of therapeutic antibodies, testing effectiveness against disinfectants etc.

Type of the Strain Isolated

There are 2 types of strains of the novel Coronavirus: L type and S type. RMRC scientists have confirmed that they have isolated the L-type strain of the SARS-CoV-2 virus. The S type strain has slowly been disappearing from across the world.

Type of Mutation of the isolated Strain

The virus strain isolated is of A2a mutation type. The A2a mutation type is the most dominant type of Novel Coronavirus. Until the month of April 2020, 10 different types of mutation of the virus have been identified by scientists across the world.

Other Indian Laboratories to Isolate the Strain

RMRC  Dibrugarh is the 4th laboratory in India to isolate the cell of the Novel Coronavirus. It is the 3rd Government Laboratory to do so after National Institute of Virology (NIV) Pune and CSIR’s Hyderabad based Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology. Hyderabad based Bharat Biotech to date is the only private laboratory in India to have isolated the strain of the virus.