Roger Federer wins seventh Cincinnati Masters title of Tennis

World number two, Roger Federer from Switzerland has won the Cincinnati Masters title for record seventh time in men’s singles title category.

In the final match played at Ohio near Cincinnati, US he defeated world number one, Novak Djokovic by 7–6, 7-1 and 6–3 score.

Earlier, Roger Federer had won this title in 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2014.

Other Results

  • Women’s Singles Title: Serena Williams (US) won the women’s Singles Title by defeating Simona Halep (Romania) by 6–3, 7–6 and 7–5 score.
  • Men’s Doubles champions Title: Daniel Nestor (Canada) and Édouard Roger-Vasselin (France) pair won by defeating Marcin Matkowski (Poland) and Nenad Zimonjić (Serbia) pair by 6–2, 6–2 score.
  • Women’s Doubles champions Title: Chinese Taipei pair of Chan Hao-ching and Chan Yung-jan won by defeating Casey Dellacqua (Australia) and Yaroslava Shvedova (Kazakhstan) pair by 7–5, 6–4 score.

Cincinnati Masters titles: It is the oldest tennis tournament in the United States played in its original city started in September 1899.  It is the second largest summer tennis event in the after the US Open in US.



Categories: Sports Current Affairs 2018



Video from Our Channel