1971 India-Pakistan war Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

47th Anniversary of Vijay Diwas celebrated

India celebrated Vijay Diwas on 16th December 2018 marking the 47th anniversary of its victory over Pakistan in the 1971 war. On this occasion, the Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman along with the heads of the three armed forces paid tributes to the martyrs at Amar Jawan Jyoti at the India Gate in New Delhi.

About Vijay Diwas:

  • Vijay Diwas, also called as Victory Day, is celebrated on every 16th December in India.
  • It marks the victory of Indian armed forces over Pakistan in the war of Independence of Bangladesh from Pakistan in 1971.
  • At the end of the 1971 war, the Pakistani Army unilaterally and unconditionally surrendered resulting in the independence of East Pakistan, which was called as Bangladesh.
  • On this day in 1971, the chief of the Pakistani forces along with 93,000 troops, surrendered to the allied forces consists of Indian Army and Mukti Bahini in Dhaka after they got defeated in the war.
  • On the anniversary of Vijay Divas, respect and tributes are paid to the martyrs who laid down their lives for their country.
  • Every year on Vijay Diwas, the Indian Defence Minister along with heads of armed forces of India pay their tributes to the martyrs at Amar Jawan Jyoti at the India Gate in New Delhi and also at the National Military Memorial, Bangalore.

On Vijay Diwas, every year, Citizens, senior officials, students & war veterans pay their homage and remember the sacrifices of the soldiers.

Month: Categories: Defence


47th Navy Day Navy day Observed

Indian Navy Day is observed annually on 4 December to celebrate magnificence, achievements and role of naval force of the country. This year it was 47th Navy Day.

Why Navy Day is celebrated?

It commemorates launch of Operation Trident by Indian Navy against Pakistan on 4th December, 1971. During 1971 India-Pakistan war, Indian Navy had played significant role in bombing of Karachi harbour, the stronghold of Pakistani Navy. In this attack, Indian Navy sank four Pakistani vessels and ravaged Karachi harbour fuel fields. In this operation, three missile boats of Indian Navy, INS Nirghat, INS Nipat and INS Veer had played pivotal role in this mission. Operation Trident had also resulted in first use of anti-ship missiles in the Arabian Sea region.

Indian Navy

It is marine branch of Indian Armed Forces and is led by President of India as Commander-in-Chief. It is one of most potent maritime forces in the world and the most lethal in Indian Ocean.  It is entrusted with duty of security of the country’s maritime boundaries. Currently, 67,228 soldiers/employees are employed in Indian Navy. The motto of the Indian Navy is  “शं नो वरुणः (Sham No Varunaḥ), it means may lord of Water be auspicious unto us. At present, the Chief of the Indian Navy is Admiral Sunil Lamba. As of March 2018,  Indian Navy has Aircraft Carrier, 1 Amphibious Transport Dock, 8 Landing Ship Tanks, 11 Destroyer, 13 Frigates, 1 Nuclear Power Powered Submarine, 1 Ballistic Missile Submarine, 14 Traditional Submarines, 22 Corvette, 4 Fleet Tanker And there are many other ships.

The roots of Indian Navy dates back to 1612 AD when Great Maratha ruler Chatrapati Shivaji had formed navy in his forces. So he is called the father of the Indian Navy.

Month: Categories: National