2016 T-20 ICC World Cup Current Affairs - 2020

West Indies wins 2016 ICC T-20 Cricket World Cup

West Indies has won the ICC Cricket World Men’s T-20 Cup 2016 by defeating England by 4 wickets in the final match played at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

In the final match, England batting first had scored 155 runs for 9 wickets. West Indies successfully chased the target by scoring 161 runs in 19.4 over at the loss of 4 wickets.

With this win, West Indies became the only team to win the ICC World Twenty20 title twice. Earlier it had won its first title in 2012 by defeating Sri Lanka.

Captains of the two teams

  • West Indies: Darren Sammy.
  • England: Eoin Morgan.


  • Player of the match: Marlon Samuels (West Indies).
  • Player of the series: Virat Kohli (India).

ICC Cricket World Women’s T-20 Cup 2016

West Indies has won their maiden Women’s World T-20 title by defeating reigning champions Australia by 8 wickets at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Batting first Australia had score of 148 runs for 5 wickets. West Indies in reply scored 149 runs in 19.3 over at the loss of 2 wickets.

Captains of the two teams

  • West Indies: Stafanie Taylor.
  • Australia: Meg Lanning.


  • Player of the match: Hayley Matthews (West Indies).
  • Player of the series: Stafanie Taylor (West Indies).