African Union Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

44 African countries sign agreement to establish African Continental Free Trade Area

The 44 African countries from total 55 members of African Union (AU) have signed agreement to create African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA), one of the world’s largest free trade blocs. The agreement was signed at a summit held in Kigali, Rwanda.

The signed AfCFTA agreement contains legal framework for free trade area. It will come into force after it is ratified by individual countries through their respective domestic processes. 10 countries including Nigeria, Africa’s largest economy and most populous country have refused to sign the agreement.

African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA)

AfCFTA will bring together 1.2 billion people with combined gross domestic product (GDP) of more than $2 trillion from entire continent of Africa comprising 55 countries. The continental trade bloc aims to remove barriers to trade, like tariffs and import quotas, allowing the free flow of goods and services between its members. It also seeks to liberalise services and aims to tackle so-called non-tariff barriers which hamper trade between African countries, such as long delays at borders. It will help in creating single continental market for goods and services and boost trade between African countries. It will boost commerce, growth and employment. The free trade area may also will free movement of people and even have single currency in future. It will also make Africa more competitive outwardly. Once AfCFTA becomes reality, it will be largest free-trade area in terms of participating countries since the formation of the World Trade Organization (WTO).


African heads of government agreed to establish a continental free trade area in 2012 and started negotiations in 2015 to boost intra-Africa trade. Intra-African trade is relatively limited and it is made up only 10.2% of continent’s total trade in 2010. Within Africa, 43% goods traded are manufactured products. Between 2010 and 2015, fuels represented more than half of Africa’s exports to non-African countries, while manufactured goods made up only 18% of exports to rest of the world.

Month: Categories: International


Zimbabwe President Robert Mugabe appointed as Chairman of African Union

Zimbabwe’s President Robert Mugabe has been appointed as Chairman of African Union (AU).

He will be 13th Chairman of African Union (AU) and succeed Mauritanian President Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz for a one-year term. The position of chairman of the AU is a rotating one on yearly basis and largely ceremonial.

Robert Mugabe: He has ruled Zimbabwe since independence. He is Zimbabwe’s longest serving President and had assumed office in December 1987. Currently, he is also chairman of the 15-nation Southern African Development Community.

African Union (AU)

  • It is the successor of Organisation of African Unity (OAU) and came into existence in 2002 at Durban summit in South Africa.
  • Headquarters: It is located at Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
  • Motto: A United and Strong Africa.
  • Objective: As pan-African organization, AU aims at promoting unity and cooperation among African nations. It also strives to spread democracy and good governance in the continent.
  • Members: At present the African Union has a total of 54 members. Morocco is the only African country which is not the part of the Union.

Month: Categories: InternationalPersons in News