Amitabh Bachchan Current Affairs - 2020

Amitabh Bachchan to get Dadasaheb Phalke Award – 2018

Bollywood megastar Amitabh Bachchan will be honoured with India’s highest award in cinema, the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2018. He will be conferred the prestigious film honour for his ‘outstanding contribution for the growth and development of Indian cinema’. The award comes in the year that marks Amitabh Bachchan’s golden jubilee (50 years) in cinema. The announcement in this regard was made by Minister of Information & Broadcasting Prakash Javadekar.

About Amitabh Bachchan

He made his debut in 1969 with film ‘Saat Hindustani’.

For past five decades he is one of the most influential figures in Indian cinema.


He has also been honoured with Padma Shri (1984), Padma Bhushan (2001) and Padma Vibhushan (2015).

In 2007, the French Government conferred upon him with France’s highest civilian honour- ‘the Knight of the Legion of Honour’, for his exceptional career in the world of cinema and beyond.

He has also been conferred with 4 national awards and 15 filmfare trophies.

About Dadasaheb Phalke Award

It is country’s highest film honour. It was introduced by government in 1969.

The award was founded to commemorate ‘father of Indian cinema’, Dhundiraj Govind Phalke, popularly known as Dadasaheb Phalke. He directed Raja Harischandra (1913), India’s first feature film.

In 2018, at 65th National Awards, Vinod Khanna was posthumously honoured with Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2017 for his priceless contribution to cinema.

First Recipient: Devika Rani, ‘the first lady of Indian cinema’.

Prize: Award comprises a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus), a shawl and a cash prize of Rs.10 Lakh.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

48th International Film Festival of India held in Goa

The 48th International Film Festival of India (IFFI) was held in Panaji in Goa. The closing ceremony was held at Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Stadium in Bambolim.

Legendary Bollywood actor Amitabh Bachchan was honoured with the Indian film personality of 2017 award. Acclaimed Canadian filmmaker Atom Egoyan was honoured with the lifetime achievement award.

Other Category Awards

Best film award: 120 Beats Per Minute (French movie) directed by Robin Campullo.

Best director award: Vivian Qu for Angels Wear White (China).

Special Jury Award: Take-off (Malayalam film-India).

Best Actor (Female) award: Parvathy.

Best Actor (Male) award: Nahuel Perez Biscayart for his performance in 120 Beats Per Minute.

Best Debut Feature Film Director award: Kiro Russo for film Dark Skull (Spanish).

ICFT-UNESCO Gandhi Medal: Kshitij-A Horizon (Marathi movie) directed by Manouj Kadamh.

Film Beyond the Clouds directed by Iranian filmmaker Majid Majidi was opening film this year, while Pablo Cesar-directed Indo-Argentine film Thinking of Him was the closing film. Around 200 films from 82 countries were screened during nine-day event.

International Film Festival of India (IFFI)

IFFI is biggest state-backed film festival and conducted jointly by Union Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Directorate of Film Festivals and Government of Goa. It was founded in 1952 and since then held annually in Goa.

IFFI aims at providing common platform for cinemas of world to project the excellence of the film art. It also seeks to contribute to create awareness for understanding and appreciation of film cultures of different nations in context of their social and cultural ethos and promote friendship and cooperation among people of the world.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App