Andhra Pradesh CM Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

First Disha Police Station inaugurated in Andhra Pradesh to work on violence against women

On February 8, 2020, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy inaugurated the first Disha Police Station. The police stations are first of their kind in the state and will deal with crimes against women.


The Andhra Pradesh Government is to inaugurate 18 Disha Police Stations by the end of February 2020. Every police station is to add 26 to 47 police officers. The 18 Disha police stations will act as upgraded versions of existing women police stations. The stations have been allocated fund of 30% of special allowance. The stations are established under Disha act, 2019.

Disha Act

In December 2019, the Andhra Pradesh Government passed the Disha Bill, 2019. The bill aims to complete investigation of cases related to crimes against women within 7 to 14 days. It also prescribes death penalty under Section 376 of IPC (Indian Penal Code).

Also, the act punishes crimes against children with 10 to 14 years of imprisonment.


The act was passed after a 26-year-old veterinarian was brutally raped and murdered in Telangana.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Andhra Pradesh Cabinet nods to abolish Legislative Council

On January 27, 2020, the Andhra Pradesh cabinet cleared to abolish Legislative Council. It is to be noted that the Legislative Council stalled two bills that were passed by the assembly. It includes AP Capital Region Development Authority Repeal Bill and Decentralization bill.

State Legislative Council

Andhra Pradesh is one of the few states to have bicameral legislature. The states with legislative council includes Bihar, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh and Telangana.

Constitutional Provisions

Article 169 of the constitution defines Legislative Council. As of November 2019, there are 6 states with State Legislative Council. The members of the State Legislative Council are selected in the following way

  • One-third are elected from the local bodies such as Gram Panchayat, municipalities and district councils.
  • One-third are elected by members of State Legislative Assembly.
  • One-Sixth of the members are nominated by the governor
  • One-twelfth are graduates who have resided for three years in the state
  • One-twelfth are teaching professions.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App