appointments Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Jalaj Srivastava appointed Chairman of Inland Waterways Authority of India

Union Government has appointed senior IAS officier Jalaj Srivastava as chairman of Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI). IWAI comes under Union Ministry of Shipping, Road Transport and Highways, currently headed by Nitin Gadkari.

Jalaj Srivastava

He is 1984 batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer. Prior to this appointment he was Additional Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture. Earlier he had also served as chairman of New Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) and Principal Secretary, Department of VAT, Delhi government. He is credited with launch of various programmes and schemes including Wi-Fi in the market areas. He is also known for launching “Shakti Cab” project and “URJA” project for women when he was with Delhi government. He is also considered as man behind the start of “Rahagiri” event that takes place every Sunday in national capital to promote culture and sports. Similarly some of his other initiatives were green waste management, outdoor gymnasium in parks and gardens and rooftop solar city projects. He is also writer of crime thriller novel titled ‘The Perfect Suicide.

Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI)

It is nodal statutory body in charge of development and regulation of inland waterways for shipping and navigation. It was established in October 1986 and is headquartered in Noida, Uttar Pradesh Its main function is to build necessary infrastructure in inland waterways, surveying economic feasibility of new projects and also carrying out administration and regulation. It undertakes projects for development and maintenance of IWT infrastructure on national waterways through grant received from Ministry of Shipping.

Month: Categories: Persons in News


WCD Ministry nominates 3 new members of National Commission for Women

Ministry of Woman and Child Development (WCD) has nominated three members to National Commission for Women (NCW) in pursuance Section 3 of the NCW Act, 1990. They are Chandramukhi Devi, Soso Shaiza, and Kamlesh Gautam. All three are BJP members. They will hold office for period of three years or till age of 65 years or until further orders from date of assumption of charge of office, whichever is the earlier. The new appointments now leave two positions vacant in NCW. Rekha Sharma is current chairperson of NCW.

Key Facts

Chandramukhi Devi is former Bihar MLA and member of the Bihar state women’s commission from 2011 to 2014. Soso Shaiza is present BJP national council member and also daughter-in-law of Janata Party leader Yangmaso Shaiza, the first tribal chief minister of Manipur in 1974. Kamlesh Gautam is BJP’s regional in-charge for Kanpur-Bundhelkhand.

National Commission for Women (NCW)

NCW is a statutory body established under the National Commission for Women Act, 1990. It was established in January 1992 to review constitutional and legal safeguards for women. It recommends remedial legislative measures, advise Government on all policy matters affecting women and facilitate redressal of grievances related to women. The first Commission was constituted in January 1992 with Jayanti Patnaik as Chairperson. Commission comprises up of Chairperson, five Members and Member-Secretary. Chairperson is appointed by the Central Government and is person who is committed to the cause of women. Besides Chairperson, commission has five members nominated by Central Government

Month: Categories: Persons in News