appointments Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

WCD Ministry nominates 3 new members of National Commission for Women

Ministry of Woman and Child Development (WCD) has nominated three members to National Commission for Women (NCW) in pursuance Section 3 of the NCW Act, 1990. They are Chandramukhi Devi, Soso Shaiza, and Kamlesh Gautam. All three are BJP members. They will hold office for period of three years or till age of 65 years or until further orders from date of assumption of charge of office, whichever is the earlier. The new appointments now leave two positions vacant in NCW. Rekha Sharma is current chairperson of NCW.

Key Facts

Chandramukhi Devi is former Bihar MLA and member of the Bihar state women’s commission from 2011 to 2014. Soso Shaiza is present BJP national council member and also daughter-in-law of Janata Party leader Yangmaso Shaiza, the first tribal chief minister of Manipur in 1974. Kamlesh Gautam is BJP’s regional in-charge for Kanpur-Bundhelkhand.

National Commission for Women (NCW)

NCW is a statutory body established under the National Commission for Women Act, 1990. It was established in January 1992 to review constitutional and legal safeguards for women. It recommends remedial legislative measures, advise Government on all policy matters affecting women and facilitate redressal of grievances related to women. The first Commission was constituted in January 1992 with Jayanti Patnaik as Chairperson. Commission comprises up of Chairperson, five Members and Member-Secretary. Chairperson is appointed by the Central Government and is person who is committed to the cause of women. Besides Chairperson, commission has five members nominated by Central Government

Ashok Kumar Gupta appointed as Chairperson of Competition Commission of India

Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has appointed former IAS officer Ashok Kumar Gupta as Chairperson of Competition Commission of India (CCI). He replaces acting chairperson Sudhir Mital. He will be in office till October 25, 2022 i.e. till he attains age of 65 years or until further orders, whichever is the earliest. Gupta is former IAS officer of the Tamil Nadu cadre.

Competition Commission of India (CCI)

CCI is quasi-judicial statutory body established under The Competition Act, 2002. It was established in October 2003 and became fully functional in May 2009. Section 8(1) of the Act provides CCI shall consist of Chairperson and not less than two and not more than six Members. Presently, Chairperson and four Members are in position. It has been functioning as collegium right from its inception. It functions under Ministry of Cooperate Affairs.

CCI aims to eliminate practices that adversely affect competition in different industries and protect interests of consumers and ensure freedom of trade. Its seeks to eliminate practices having adverse effect on competition, promote and sustain competition, protect interests of consumers and ensure freedom of trade in markets of India. It also gives opinion on competition issues on reference received from statutory authority established under any law and undertakes competition advocacy, create public awareness and impart training on competition issues.