Architecture Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Japanese architect Arata Isozaki wins Pritzker Prize

Japanese Architect Arata Isozaki has received the Pritzker Prize 2019. He is the 46th laureate and eighth architect from Japan to win the Pritzker Prize. Arata Isozaki will be awarded the prize of $100,000 (£76,000) and a bronze medallion in May at a ceremony at the Château de Versailles in France.

Some of his major works include Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles, Palau Saint Jordi indoor sporting arena in Barcelona, he Allianz Tower in Milan, Italy, Qatar’s National Convention Centre, Kitakyushu’s Central Library in Japan, Thessaloniki concert hall’s second auditorium, M2, in Greece, Nara Centennial Hall in Japan etc.

Pritzker Prize

Pritzker Prize is an annual award to honour a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.

The award constituted by Pritzker family of Chicago through their Hyatt Foundation in 1979. is often referred to as “architecture’s Nobel” and “the profession’s highest honour.”

Earlier awardees of the coveted prize include India’s Balkrishna Doshi, Jorn Utzon who designed the Sydney Opera House, Oscar Niemeyer of Brazil and the British-Iraqi designer, Zaha Hadid.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours


Renowned Iraqi-British Architect Zaha Hadid passes away

Renowned Iraqi-born British architect Zaha Hadid passed away due to heart attack. She was 65.

She was world’s most famous female architect and was known for her neofuturistic design which was her signature architectural style.

She was the first female winner of the top Pritzker Architecture Prize (2004), also known as the Nobel for architecture.

About Zaha Hadid

  • Born on 31st October 1950 in Baghdad, Iraq.
  • Hadid first had studied mathematics at the American University in Lebanon and later pursued architecture at the Architectural Association in London in 1972.
  • She had designed the London Aquatics Centre, which was used during the 2012 London Olympics.
  • She also designed the Al Wakrah Stadium, which is under construction for the 2022 Qatar Football World Cup.
  • Some of her notable architectural projects: Italian National Museum of 21st Century Arts (Rome), Heydar Aliyev Centre (Baku), Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art (Cincinnati) and Guangzhou Opera House (China).
  • Awards and Honours: Pritzker Prize (2004), Royal Gold Medal in architecture (2016) by the Royal Institute of British Architects.
  • Twice won the RIBA Stirling Prize, Britain’s most prestigious architecture award in 2010 and 2011. Queen Elizabeth II had honoured her with a damehood (knighthood) in 2012.

Month: Categories: Persons in News