Article 75 Current Affairs - 2020

BJP led NDA Government wins No Confidence motion in Lok Sabha

Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) Government has won No Confidence motion moved in Lok Sabha. This was first no-trust motion against Narendra Modi government after it came to power in May 2014 and less than year before the next general elections.

Key Facts

The no-confidence motion against the government was moved by a former NDA ally Telugu Desham Party (TDP). In this trust vote, NDA bagged 325 votes against motion, while 126 members voted in favour. Total of 451 out of 534 MPs were present and voted in the house bringing down majority mark required to 226.

No-Confidence Motion

In a parliamentary democracy, government can be in power only if it commands majority in directly elected House. Article 75(3) of our Constitution of India embodies this rule by specifying that Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to Lok Sabha. But there is no mention of a no-confidence motion in the constitution. The Rule 198 of Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business of Lok Sabha provides mechanism for testing this collective responsibility.  Rajya Sabha does not have procedure for moving of no-confidence motion against Government and also adjournment motion, censure motion.

The rule allows any Lok Sabha MP who can garner support of 50 colleagues, to introduce motion of no-confidence against the Council of Ministers. Motion of No-confidence need not set out any grounds on which it is based. If there are 50 MPs in favour, the motion is admitted and speaker allots date for discussion on the motion. Thereafter, discussion on motion takes place. MPs who support motion highlight government’s shortcomings. Then Prime Minister or ministers reply to the charges made. If the government loses trust vote, it is expected to resign.

19 new Ministers of State inducted in Union council of Ministers

Nineteen new Ministers of State (MoS) were inducted in the Union Council of Ministers in a major expansion.

These new ministers were administered oath of office and secrecy by President Pranab Mukherjee at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

This was the second expansion of the NDA government led by PM Narendra Modi. Of the 19 new ministers, 17 are from the BJP, one each from Apna Dal and RPI.

Besides, induction of these new ministers, Minister of State (MoS) Environment, Forests and Climate Change with independent charge, Prakash Javdekar was elevated to the Cabinet rank.

The Ministers of State inducted are

  • Faggan Singh Kulste, Ramesh Jigjinagi, S S Ahluwalia, Vijay Goel, Rajen Gohain, Ramdas Athawale, Parshottam Rupala, Anil Madhav Dave, M J Akbar, Jaswant Sinh Bhabhor, Dr Mahendra Nath Pandey, Arjun Ram Meghwal, Ajay Tamta, Smt. Krishna Raj, Mansukh Mandaviya, Anupriya Patel, C R Chaudhary, P P Chaudhary, Dr Subhash Bhamre.

Among the newly inducted Ministers, three each are from Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and Gujarat. Rajasthan got four berths while Maharashtra got two. There is one Minister each from Assam, West Bengal, Karnataka and Uttarakhand.


  • With the induction of 19 MoS, total number of Ministers in the Union Council has gone up to 83, exceeding the constitutional cap of 82.
  • As per provisions of Article 75, the total number cannot exceed 82 i.e. 15% of the total number of members of Lok Sabha.
  • This provision of constitutional cap for total number of Ministers in the Union Council was added by the 91st Constitutional Amendment Act, 2003.