ASEAN Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

India-ASEAN Inno Tech Summit 2019

A Three day India ASEAN InnoTech Summit is to being held in Davao, Philippines. The Summit is organized between 20 November, 2019 and 22 November, 2019. It focuses on innovative technologies, exhibitions, and back to back meetings to accelerate innovative development.

Highlights of the summit

This is the second summit being organized. The previous summit was held in New Delhi. The ASEAN members participating in the summit includes Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia, Cambodia, Myanmar, Laos, Philippines, Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam. The summit is jointly organized by the FICCI (Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry) and DST (Department of Science and Technology).

India will exhibit its best innovative technologies in the summit. It will also include technologies with potential implementation in the ASEAN region.


The summit aims to explore new pathways for partnership between the countries and the Indian research based enterprises. It will capture global trends in innovations and technologies. The summit will also connect global research and development community with the local entities. It will also pave way for industry-academia-government partnerships.

The summit will help India assess the needs of market and build capacities to rapidly commercialize research and development. It will also help in policy frameworks, reforms and regulatory environment.

Thailand hosts 6th ASEAN Defence Ministers Meeting-Plus

Thailand hosted the 6th ASEAN Defence Ministers Meeting (ADMM)- Plus in its capital city Bangkok. ADMM-Plus is key ministerial-level platforms in regional security architecture for promoting strategic dialogue and practical cooperation between ASEAN and its 8 partner countries viz. India, China, Australia, New Zealand, Japan,  South Korea, Russia and US.

Participants in this edition of ADMM-Plus included Defence Ministers from 17 countries of ADMM-Plus group. Thereby, India was represented by Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh. As part of the agenda for ADMM-Plus meeting, Defence Minister of India released ‘Handbook on Military Medicine for ASEAN’ along with Defence Minister of Myanmar Lieutenant General Sein Win.

About Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

It is regional intergovernmental organisation comprising 10 Southeast Asian countries viz- Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore, Philippines, Vietnam, Myanmar, Cambodia, Brunei and Laos. It promotes intergovernmental cooperation as well as facilitates political, economic, sociocultural, educational, military and security integration among its members and other Asian countries. It was founded on 8 August 1967. It is headquartered in Jakarta, Indonesia. India is full dialogue partner of ASEAN.

About ADMM-Plus

It is platform for ASEAN and its eight dialogue partners (Australia,New Zealand, India, China, Russia, US, Japan and South Korea)  to strengthen security and defence co-operation for peace, stability, and development in the region. It seeks to promote mutual trust and confidence between defence establishments of ASEAN and its eight partner countries through greater dialogue and transparency. It was established in 2010. It was held for first time in Hanoi, Vietnam in 2010, in which defence ministers of participating countries had agreed on five areas of practical cooperation, including counter-terrorism, maritime security, peacekeeping operations and humanitarian assistance.