Asian Football Confederation Current Affairs - 2020

India to host AFC Women’s Cup

On June 5, 2020, the Asian Football Confederation confirmed that India will host 2022 Women’s Asian Cup. This is the first time India is hosting the cup since 1979.


The Asian Football Confederation handed over the hosting rights to the All India Football Federation. The tournament is to be held in 2022 and around 12 teams are to participate in the tournament.

The Indian team has twice finished as runners in 1980 and 1983 and won bronze in 1981.

Asian Football Confederation

The AFC (Asian Football Confederation) is one of the 6 continental confederations. There are 47 member countries that are part of the AFC. It was officially formed in 1954. The headquarters of the confederation is located in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

All India Football Federation

The AIFF was formed in 1923. The AIFF was one of the founding members of AFC. The AIFF conducts several tournaments namely I-League, Indian Super League and Super Cup.

AIFF Awards: Ashalata Devi and Sunil Chhetri bag top honours

Indian men’s football team captain Sunil Chhetri and women’s footballer Ashalata Devi have bagged top honours at All India Football Federation (AIFF) 2018-19 awards. Chhetri was named as Men’s footballer of the year, while Ashalata Devi won the Women’s footballer of the year title.

Key Highlights

Sunil Chhetri: He is Indian captain and skipper, who scored a brace in India’s loss to Tajikistan in opening match of Intercontinental Cup 2019. He won AIFF award for 3rd consecutive year and for a record-extending 6th time (2007, 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2017). With 70 goals for India, he is also the 2nd-highest active international scorer only behind Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal. He currently plays for Bengaluru FC in Indian Super League (ISL).

Other Awardees are as follows:

AIFF Emerging Men’s Footballer of Year 2018-19: Sahal Abdul Samad (from Kerala)

AIFF Emerging Women’s Footballer of Year 2018-19: Dangmei Grace (from Manipur)

AIFF Award for Best Referee: R Venkatesh (from Tamil Nadu)

AIFF Award for the Best Assistant Referee: Joseph Tony (from Karnatak)a

Best Grassroots Development Programme: Jammu & Kashmir (J&K) Football Association

About AIFF Awards

AIFF Player of Year has been awarded by All India Football Federation since 1992.

It is an annual association football award presented to best footballer in India.

AIFF is governing body of football association in India sicne its inception in 1937. It was one of founding members of Asian Football Confederation, which is overseer of football in Asia.