Assam Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Assam Assembly passes Ease of Doing Business Bill, 2016

Assam Assembly has passed Assam Ease of Doing Business Bill, 2016 to facilitate ease of doing business in the state.

The bill seeks to attract fresh investment in the state through an easy computerised clearance system.

Key Facts

  • The bill has the provision for speedy processing of applications and issue of clearances for setting up industries.
  • The basic aim of the bill is to create an investment-friendly environment for economic development of the state.
  • The bill provides for establishing a bureau under the name of Assam Bureau of Investment Promotion for the purpose of overall supervision and administration of the speedy processing of applications and issue of various clearances.

Month: Categories: Bills & Acts


Assam Assembly Election 2016 Results

Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and its alliance partners have won an absolute majority in 2016 Assam state assembly election by winning 87 seats (16.46% votes) in the 126 member House.

BJP alone has won 60 seats (29.5% votes) on its own, thus making history by winning an Assam assembly election for the first time.

BJP’s ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) has won 14 seats (8.1% votes) while another ally Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) has bagged 13 seats (3.9% votes).

Indian National Congress (INC) has won 26 seats (31% votes), while its ally All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) won 13 seats (13% votes) and one seat was won be an independent candidate.

BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal has won from Majuli seat, defeating his nearest rival by more than 18000 votes. Outgoing Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi has won in Titabar seat, with a margin of over 17000 votes.


The general election for the 14th Assam legislative assembly was held in two phases on April 4 and 11, 2016 to elect members of the 126 constituencies in Assam.

The overall voter’s turnout was 84.72% which is highest in the history of Assam. The turnout saw an increase from the 2011 Assembly election turnout which was 75%.

Election Commission of India (ECI) also conducted trials of 2300 Voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines attached along with EVMs (electronic voting machines) in 10 assembly constituencies in the state.

Month: Categories: States