Australian Open Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Australian Open 2019

Australian Open which is the first of the four Grand Slam tennis event concluded at Melbourne in Australia. Nicknamed as the happy slam, the Australian Open has grown to become the largest annual sporting event in the Southern Hemisphere.

Grand Slam tennis events

Apart from Australian Open, Other Grand Slam tennis events are  French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open.

Winners of the Australian Open 2019

The Winners of the Australian Open 2019 are:

  • Women’s Singles: Naomi Osaka of Japan.
  • Men’s Singles: Novak Djokovic of Serbia.
  • Women’s Doubles: Samantha Stosur of Australia and Zhang Shuai of China.
  • Men’s Doubles: Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut of France.
  • Mixed Doubles: Czech Republic’s Barbora Krejcikova and Rajeev Ram of the US.

Novak Djokovic of Serbia become the first man to win seven titles at Australian Open. The victory of Naomi Osaka of Japan cements her place as number one women singles player of the world.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Sania Mirza, Martina Hingis win 2016 Australian Open title of Tennis

Ace Indian tennis player Sania Mirza and her Swiss partner Martina Hingis have won the 2016 Australian Open title of tennis in the women’s doubles category.

In the final match played at Melbourne (Australia), the top seeded duo defeated seventh seeded Czech pair of Andrea Hlavackova and Lucie Hradecka by 7-6 (1), 6-3 score.

It was overall there 12th title together after they had teamed from 2015. It was also their 36th match win together in a row. It is their and their maiden Australian Open title.

Their 11 WTA doubles titles are: Indian Wells, Miami, Charleston, Wimbledon, US Open, Guangzhou, Wuhan, Beijing and the WTA Finals in 2015 and followed by Brisbane (2016) and Sydney (2016).

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App