awards Current Affairs

Indian engineer Vikas Sathaye part of team awarded Sci-Tech Oscar

Pune-born Indian engineer Vikas Sathaye was awarded Scientific and Engineering Academy Award at Oscars Scientific and Technical Awards 2018. He was bestowed award along with his three other team for their contribution towards conceptualisation, design, engineering and the implementation of the ‘Shotover K1 Camera System’.

Shotover K1 Camera System

The system is a camera mount that is used for aerial filming. It is six-axis stabilised aerial camera moun that can be attached to base of a helicopter, which carries the camera and lens. Its camera mount ensures steady footage by eliminating any vibration from reaching camera. This helps in enhancing ability to frame shots while looking straight down, enables greater creative freedom and results in clear, unwavering photography and videography. Cinema cameras can be mounted on it and can used to capture challenging aerial shots

Sci-Tech Oscar Awards

The Oscar’s or Academy’s Scientific and Technical Awards honours companies and individuals for their discoveries and innovations that have contributed significantly to motion pictures.  They are conferred on three levels: Technical Achievement Award (certificate), Scientific and Engineering Award (bronze tablet) and Academy Award of Merit (Oscar statuette). They were first presented at 4th Academy Awards ceremony in 1931.


Government to award former DG of Kapurthala science city Raghbir Singh Khandpur

The Department of Science and Technology will award Raghbir Singh Khandpur for his contribution to science and his efforts to make the Science City in Punjab’s Kapurthala into an international-level facility

He has been selected for a national award for his contribution in the field of science, technology and communication. It will be given to him in New Delhi on National Science Day (February 28).

Raghbir Singh Khandpur

Khandpur is former Director General (DG) of the Centre for Electronics Design and Technology and Pushpa Gujral Science City in Kapurthala. He has served as scientist for 24 years at CSIO, Chandigarh as head of Medical Instruments Division and also as head of the Electronics Division.

He is also the founder director of Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC) in Mohali. He has authored 10 books of international repute and is a holder of seven patents for innovative designs. He has published over 60 research and review papers.