awards Current Affairs

Marathi, Bengali films shortlisted for 2015 UNESCO Fellini Medal

Marathi film Katyar Kaljat Ghusali and Bengali film Cinemawala are among the twelve films shortlisted for prestigious 2015 UNESCO Fellini Medal.

Katyar Kaljat Ghusali has been directed by actor-turn director Subodh Bhave, while Kaushik Gangualy has directed Cinemawala.

International Film Festival India (IFFI) 2015 in collaboration with the Paris based International Council for Film, Television and Audiovisual Communication (ICFT) will present a Fellini Medal for first time in India.

The award will be bestowed upon film, which reflects the ideals promoted by United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

Other films competing for 2015 edition of Fellinin Medal are: Mina Walking, Among the Believers, The Last Reel, Embrace of the Serpent, Land and Shade, The Pearl Button, Enclave, Wawa no Cidal, Ain and Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal.

About UNESCO Fellini Medal

UNESCO’s Member States had instituted this prize in 1995 after passing resolution on General Conference for the safeguarding of the cinematographic heritage. The first Fellini medal was unveiled at the Cannes Film Festival in May 1995.

It was instituted after death of Italian film director Federico Fellini in 1993 as an appeal to the international community to participate in a campaign to keep the seventh art alive.


Syrian journalist Zaina Erhaim wins 2015 Reporters without Borders Prize

Syrian woman journalist Zaina Erhaim has won the prestigious 2015 Reporters without Borders Prize for her defence of press freedom.

She was singled out for this prestigious award for her determination and courage covering news in in civil war and conflict ravaged Syria which is deemed the most dangerous country in the world for journalists.

Presently, Zaina Erhaim lives and works in Aleppo (Syria). She has trained about 100 citizen reporters (third of them are women) from Syria in past two years. She also has helped in establishing new, independent newspapers and magazines in the war-torn country.

About Reporters Without Borders Prize

It is an annual award established in 1992 by Paris (France) based NGO Reporters Without Borders (RWB). It is bestowed upon journalists who have made a significant contribution to the defence and promotion of press freedom.