B Sai Praneeth Current Affairs - 2020

BWF World Championship 2019: B. Sai Praneeth wins bronze in men’s singles

India’s B. Sai Praneeth settled for bronze after losing (13-21, 8-21) to Kento Momota of Japan in men’s singles semifinal in BWF World Championships 2019 held at St. Jakobshalle in Basel in Switzerland. Kento Momota is world No.1 and defending champion of Badminton World Championship.

Key Highlights

Sai Praneeth, World No. 19, has ended a 36-year wait by becoming only 2nd Indian men’s singles player since Prakash Padukone in 1983 to win a bronze medal at World Championships after he defeated world No.4 Jonatan Christie in quarter-final with 24-22, 21-14.

Badminton Association of India has announced a cash reward of Rs.5 lakh for B. Sai Praneeth for winning bronze in BWF World Championship,

About BWF World Championships

Badminton World Federation (BWF) sanctions this badminton tournament.

It was founded in 1977 and is also known as World Badminton Championships.

It offers most ranking points, together with Summer Olympic Games.

Winners of tournament are crowned as ‘World Champions’ and awarded gold medals.

The tournament does not offer any prize money.

2019 BWF World Championships

The badminton tournament was held from 19 to 25 August at St. Jakobshalle in Basel in Switzerland.

Total Competitors in tournament- 359

Nations Participated– 45

Host– Basel. It was chosen to be host of 2019 edition of championships over 2020 Summer Olympics host city, Tokyo (Japan). This bid was approved by Badminton World Federation during a council meeting in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Sameer Verma wins Syed Modi International Badminton title 2018

India’s Sameer Verma has won Syed Modi India Grand Prix Gold badminton title 2018 in men’s singles category. In the final match held in Lucknow, he defeated China’s Lu Guangzu by 16-21,  21-19 and 21-14 score. Women’s singles title was won by China’s Han Yue after defeating India’s Saina Nehwal by 21-18, 21-8 score.

Syed Modi International India Open Grand Prix championship

It was launched by Uttar Pradesh Badminton Association (UPBA) in 1991 as ‘Syed Modi Memorial Badminton Tournament’ in memory of Syed Modi. Initially, it was national level event and in 2004 it was organized as International event for the first time. In 2011, it was upgraded to BWF Grand Prix Gold tournament. It is held every year at Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.