Badminton Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

PV Sindhu wins maiden BWF World Tour Title

PV Sindhu, the 2016 Rio Olympic silver medallist, created history on 16th December 2018 as she became the first Indian to win the BWF World Tour Finals.  She defeated Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara, the 2017 world champion, by 21-19 21-17 in the final match that lasted for an hour and two minutes. Earlier, Sindhu defeated Ratchanok by 21-16, 25-23 in the semi-finals to enter the finals of the season-ending BWF World Tour tournament.

About 2018 BWF World Tour:

  • The BWF World Tour Finals is an annual badminton competition that takes place at the end of every year. The badminton players having most points from all the events of the BWF World Tour in that calendar year compete with each other in this tournament.
  • It was held from 12th to 16th December 2018 in Tianhe, Guangzhou, China. The total prize of the tournament was $1,500,000.
  • Shi Yuqi of China won the Men’s Singles title defeating Kento Momota of Japan by 21-12, 21-11.
  • Li Junhui & Liu Yuchen (China) beat Hiroyuki Endo & Yuta Watanabe by 21-15, 21-11 to win the Men’s Doubles title final match.
  • In the Women’s Doubles final match, Misaki Matsutomo & Ayaka Takahashi (Japan) defeated Lee So-hee & Shin Seung-chan (South Korea) by 21-12, 22-20.
  • Wang Yilü & Huang Dongping (China) defeated Zheng Siwei & Huang Yaqiong (China)by 23-21, 16-21, 21-18 to win Mixed Doubles final match.

This win was Sindhu’s  14th title in her career but it was the first title for her in 2018. P V Sindhu won the silver medal at the World Championships 2018, Thailand Open 2018, Asian Games 2018, Commonwealth Games 2018 and India Open held this year.

Month: Categories: Sports


Sameer Verma wins Syed Modi International Badminton title 2018

India’s Sameer Verma has won Syed Modi India Grand Prix Gold badminton title 2018 in men’s singles category. In the final match held in Lucknow, he defeated China’s Lu Guangzu by 16-21,  21-19 and 21-14 score. Women’s singles title was won by China’s Han Yue after defeating India’s Saina Nehwal by 21-18, 21-8 score.

Syed Modi International India Open Grand Prix championship

It was launched by Uttar Pradesh Badminton Association (UPBA) in 1991 as ‘Syed Modi Memorial Badminton Tournament’ in memory of Syed Modi. Initially, it was national level event and in 2004 it was organized as International event for the first time. In 2011, it was upgraded to BWF Grand Prix Gold tournament. It is held every year at Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.

Month: Categories: Sports