Badminton World Federation Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

BWF World Championship 2019: B. Sai Praneeth wins bronze in men’s singles

India’s B. Sai Praneeth settled for bronze after losing (13-21, 8-21) to Kento Momota of Japan in men’s singles semifinal in BWF World Championships 2019 held at St. Jakobshalle in Basel in Switzerland. Kento Momota is world No.1 and defending champion of Badminton World Championship.

Key Highlights

Sai Praneeth, World No. 19, has ended a 36-year wait by becoming only 2nd Indian men’s singles player since Prakash Padukone in 1983 to win a bronze medal at World Championships after he defeated world No.4 Jonatan Christie in quarter-final with 24-22, 21-14.

Badminton Association of India has announced a cash reward of Rs.5 lakh for B. Sai Praneeth for winning bronze in BWF World Championship,

About BWF World Championships

Badminton World Federation (BWF) sanctions this badminton tournament.

It was founded in 1977 and is also known as World Badminton Championships.

It offers most ranking points, together with Summer Olympic Games.

Winners of tournament are crowned as ‘World Champions’ and awarded gold medals.

The tournament does not offer any prize money.

2019 BWF World Championships

The badminton tournament was held from 19 to 25 August at St. Jakobshalle in Basel in Switzerland.

Total Competitors in tournament- 359

Nations Participated– 45

Host– Basel. It was chosen to be host of 2019 edition of championships over 2020 Summer Olympics host city, Tokyo (Japan). This bid was approved by Badminton World Federation during a council meeting in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Highlights: 2019 Thailand Open Badminton

The 2019 Thailand Open, a badminton tournament is officially named as TOYOTA Thailand Open 2019. It took place at Indoor Stadium Huamark in Bangkok in Thailand from 30 July to 4 August 2019. It had a total purse of $350,000.


The 2019 Thailand Open was 16th tournament of 2019 BWF World Tour. It was also part of Thailand Open international championships, which had been held since 1984.

Tournament was organized by Badminton Association of Thailand with sanction from Badminton World Federation (BWF).

Since 2018 as per new BWF events structure BWF has categorised Thailand Open as one of 7 BWF World Tour Super 500 events.

BWF is international governing body for badminton sport. It is recognised by International Olympic Committee (IOC), which is a non-governmental sports organisation based in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Thailand Open Badminton Winners

  • Men’s Doubles: Satwiksairaj Rankireddy & Chirag Shetty of India
  • Men’s Singles: Chou Tien-chen of Chinese Taipei
  • Women’s Doubles: Shiho Tanaka & Koharu Yonemoto of Japan
  • Women’s Singles: Chen Yufei of China
  • Mixed Doubles: Huang Dongping & Wang Yilü China

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App