Banwarilal Purohit Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Banwarilal Purohit sworn in as Governor of Tamil Nadu

Banwarilal Purohit was sworn in as 25th Governor of Tamil Nadu. He was administered oath of office and secrecy by Madras High Court Chief Justice Indira Banerjee. He was transferred from post of Governor of Assam by President Ram Nath Kovind.

He will take charge from C Vidyasagar Rao, Governor of Maharashtra who was hold additional charge after  tenure of K. Rosaiah had ended on 31 August 2016.

Banwarilal Purohit

Mr. Purohit is public personality involved in social, political, educational and industrial fields of Vidarbha, Maharashtra. He had plunged into active politics in 1977 and was elected for first time as MLA in Maharashtra Assembly in 1978 from Nagpur. He was re-elected in 1980 from Nagpur south and became  minister in 1982.

In 1984 and 1989, he was elected to the Lok Sabha from Nagpur-Kamptee seat and was member of Parliamentary Consultative Committee of Defence Ministry. He was re-elected from Lok Sabha seat in 1996 and served as a member of the Parliamentary Consultative Committee on Home Affairs, Standing Committee on Defence and also Public Sector Undertaking Committee.

He is also credited with revival of ‘The Hitavada’, an English daily founded by Gopal Krishna Gokhale, a mentor to Mahatma Gandhi. Under him, the daily bad became leading newspaper of central India and apart from its headquarters edition at Nagpur, daily also launched editions from Jabalpur, Raipur, and Bhopal.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

President appoints governors for 5 states

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed Governors in five states viz. Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Tamil Nadu, Assam and Meghalaya. Lieutenant Governor for Andaman and Nicobar Islands was also appointed. The appointments will come into effect from the date incumbents assume charge of new posts.

Appointed Governors are

Brigadier (Dr) BD Mishra (Retd): He was appointed as Governor of Arunachal Pradesh. He was Commander of NSG (Black Cat Commandos) and was instrumental in successful rescue operation during Indian Airlines plane hijacking at Amritsar in 1993. He has served in China war (1962), Bangladesh liberation operations (1971) and in LTTE operations in Sri Lanka (1987-88). He also volunteered for the Kargil war after retirement.

Satya Pal Malik: He was appointed as Governor of Bihar. He had held the profile of MoS, Parliamentary Affairs and Tourism brief period of six months in 1990. He was twice elected as member of Rajya Sabha and once of Lok Sabha. He was a member of Uttar Pradesh Assembly in 1970s.

Banwarilal Purohit: He was appointed as Governor of Tamil Nadu. Prior to this appointment, he was Governor of Assam. He is a veteran political leader from Vidarbha.

Prof Jagdish Mukhi: He was appointed as Governor of Assam. Previously, he was Lieutenant Governor of Andaman & Nicabar islands. Previously, he had held various profiles in Delhi Government such as Finance, Plannes, Excise & Taxation and Higher Education. In Delhi Assembly, he led Opposition for almost 10 ten years.

Ganga Prasad: He was appointed as the Governor of Meghalaya. He was an MLC in Bihar for 18 years. He led the Opposition as MLC for five years.

Devendra Kumar Joshi: He was appointed as Lt. Governor of Andaman & Nicobar islands.  He had served as Chief of Naval Staff from August 2012 to February 2014. He also had served as Defence Adviser at Indian High Commission in Singapore from 1996-99.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App