Barcelona Current Affairs - 2020

WHO warns about a New and Dangerous phase of COVID-19

Following reports of relaxation in lockdown by various major economies around the world, on 19th June 2020, the World Health Organization (WHO) has warned that this could lead to a new and dangerous phase of the Covid-19 pandemic. As people and governments across the world are tired of lockdowns, the WHO reminded that the Covid-19 virus spread has accelerated.


This warning came after reports from Italy came through that from two cities of Italy (Milan and Turin), samples of sewage water collected from 18th December 2019 have traces of the Covid-19 virus. The first case in Italy was reported in mid-February, which means the virus was already present 2 months before the first case was detected. This study was conducted at the National Health Institute Body (ISS).

A similar study in Spain was conducted in which traces of the Covid-19 virus were found in sewage water samples collected from Barcelona in the month of January.

This indicates that the symptoms of the virus and the extent to which it has spread are still unknown.

Covid-19 Vaccine Update

Indian scientist Soumya Swaminathan (currently- Chief Scientist at WHO) has recently said that she expects 2 billion doses of Covid-19 vaccine to be available by the end of 2020 but for reaching the distribution stage of the vaccine, the exact time frame still depends on the success of the trails.

United States company Moderna which is working on a messenger-Ribonucleic Acid (mRNA) vaccine has recently announced that they are likely to launch trails for Phase 3 of the vaccine next month.  The clinical trials are conducted in III phases for a vaccine: In Phase I, it’s tested in a small sample of healthy humans, while in Phase II efforts are made to test in a larger sample of healthy humans having different age groups for the efficiency, safety and also to determine the correct dose required as the group. Phase III trials are performed in a much broader population.

Liverpool beats Hotspur to win UEFA Champions League

Liverpool beats Tottenham Hotspur with 2-0 to win UEFA Champions League football trophy final at Madrid, Spain. This was Tottenham first ever appearance in the Champions League final.

Key Highlights

  • In an all-English Champions League final the 2-0 win by Liverpool over Tottenham Hotspur was result of an early goal from Mohamed Salah and a late one from Divock Origi. Liverpool’s coach Juergen Klopp received the Europe’s biggest prize.
  • With this win Liverpool claimed its sixth European Champions League title.
  • This title has further cemented their status as one of football’s most storied clubs. They now have more than Barcelona, Bayern Munich and twice as many as Manchester United club.

About UEFA Champions League (UCL)

  • It was founded in 1955 and is organised by Union of European Football Associations (UEFA).
  • It is an annual club football competition which is contested by top-division European clubs.
  • It is one of the World’s most prestigious tournaments and most prestigious club competition in European football which decides the best team in Europe.
  • It played by the national league champions (and, for some nations, one or more runners-up) of strongest UEFA national associations.