Belgium Current Affairs

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran wins Belgium Open title of Table Tennis

Indian paddler Sathiyan Gnanasekaran has won the Belgium Open title of the table tennis in the men’s singles category. This was his first his first pro title.

In the final match played at De Haan in Belgium, he defeated defeating local player Nuytinck Cedric 4-0 score in the final with 15-13, 11-6, 11-2, 17-15.

With this victory, he becomes only the second Indian table tennis player to win an ITTF event. Achanta Sharath Kamal was the first Indian table tennis player to win an ITTF event in 2012.

In the quarterfinals match of the event he had defeated Steffen Mengel (world number 75).


Nico Rosberg wins 2016 Belgian Grand Prix

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg from Germany has won the 2016 Belgian Grand Prix of Formula One.

It was Rosberg’s overall tenth championship title of F1 in his career and the sixth win in the 2016 season. Earlier, he had won Australian Grand Prix, Bahrain Grand Prix, Chinese Grand Prix and Russian Grand Prix.

2016 Belgian Grand Prix was the thirteenth race of the 2016 season of Formula One in which total 11 teams had participated. The race was run on Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps

Result of 2016 Belgian Grand Prix

  • First Position: Nico Rosberg (Germany) of Mercedes team.
  • Second Position: Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) of Red Bull.
  • Third Position: Lewis Hamilton (United Kingdom) of Mercedes Team.
  • Fourth Position: Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) of Force India.
  • Fifth Position: Sergio Perez (Italy) of Force India.

Top 3 teams are: Mercedes, Red Bull and Force India.