Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Supreme Court bars N Srinivasan from contesting BCCI elections

Supreme Court (SC) has barred Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President-in-exile N Srinivasan, from contesting any BCCI election on grounds of conflict of interest.

This judgment was given by two-member SC bench of Justices T S Thakur and F M I Khalifulla.

SC judgment in case BCCI elections

  • It struck down the Amendment in the BCCI rules that allowed Srinivasan to own IPL team. It mentioned the Amendment is bad as conflict of interest in cricket leads to great confusion.
  • No one who has commercial interest including N Srinivasan shall be eligible for any post in the BCCI and so he is disqualified on the ground of commercial interest.
  • The Bench directed BCCI to hold fresh elections of office bearers within six weeks.

The SC bench also held that charges against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) team official Gurunath Meiyappan (son in law of Srinivasan) and Rajasthan Royals co-owner Raj Kundra stands proved in the 2013 IPL betting scam. However, charges against Srinivasan were not proved.

Along with judgment, SC also set up a judges committee under a former Chief Justice of India to decide on the punishment in the 2013 IPL betting scam.

Month: Categories: Sports & Games


BCCI announces India’s squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced Indian squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

It was announced by the BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel, after the meeting of the selection committee of BCCI.

Indian squad for the ICC CWC – 2015

MS Dhoni (Captain & Wicket Keeper), Virat Kohli (Vice Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Stuart Binny, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ambati Rayudu, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Md. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma.

ICC Cricket world cup 2015

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will be the 11th edition and in total 49 matches will be played across 14 venues.

It will start on 14th February 2015 in Christchurch and co-host New Zealand team will play against Sri Lanka.

On the same day in Melbourne, Australia will play against England.

Month: Categories: Sports & Games